Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. GunnySnow

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi Everyone,

    I just recently returned from a 3 week trip to Northern BC (Canada) and Alaska (USA) and was able to use my drone to get some amazing pictures of seals, whales, other animals and tonnes of mountains.

    At no time was I in any airspace, or aircraft approach/departure paths, I was flying up the sides of mountains but could obviously only go to the 400' limit.

    Is there a way to disable this feature when I am certain it is safe to do so? I have no desire to tarnish drone operators reputations, but I would enjoy flying up the sides of mountains a little higher.

    Any suggestions?
    Regards,

    Mike
     
    yuneec53 and horizontal like this.
  2. THoff

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    103
    All you have to do is download the GUI application and connect your computer to the Typhoon with a USB cable. You can then raise the maximum altitude to 1000 meters above takeoff.

    Downloads - Yuneec
     
    Rayray likes this.
  3. PatR

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Columbia Gorge
  4. Dragonflyerthom

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Guidon, Ar
    This is true, but please be careful for all of us.
     
    Reasty likes this.
  5. Reasty

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    England UK
    I second this,the drone community dosn't need any more bad press right now.
     
    abinder likes this.
  6. yuneec53

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    london UK
    The train the train fantastic, Forget the height more trains!
     
  7. abinder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    60
    I still don't understand why anyone feels the need to go higher than 400 ft about the ground.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. RiverRunner

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    225
    Here is an example. I am flying from the river bank and want to go up to or above the bridge height. The bridge is 900 feet high.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. OnTheRopes

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Peak District, UK
    Well of course there are needs, it depends on the purpose for which you use a drone. I have a tower inspection to do on a 500 foot tower, it will of course need proper CAA permissions, however it is an example of why. That being said I also urge caution, this should not be done illegally bad press is not what we need right now.
     
    abinder likes this.
  10. OnTheRopes

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Peak District, UK
    Can you not find a higher take off point up on one of the banks?
     
  11. RiverRunner

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    225
    There are many tall trees covering the banks on both sides of the river. Even if you were to launch from the road, you could only see the drone when it was straight overhead. You cannot launch from on or near the bridge. You are not allowed to park near it or walk out on the bridge.
     
  12. kevin swanson

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    4
    rainiexr.jpg As an example I never exceeded 250' AGL to get to this position, but due to lack of access I had to launch from a spot 275' down hill from this location, there is just not much flat land here in the Pacific Northwest.
     
    GunnySnow likes this.