Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. Marco Falchi

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Italy
    I have never done the accelerometer calibration, because I do not know how to do it (I read the manual 1.1, but it's not enough).

    Calibration must be carried out on the ground, before takeoff, to calibrate the altimeter (0 feet where he takes off), or is independent from this ?

    If I make the calibration at my house, on a table, I am sure that the H is perfectly horizontal, while, at the flying ground, no.

    Can you tell me what is the right way to do the accelerometer calibration?

    Thanks in advance for any response.
     
  2. tinchob

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, ARG
    good point about Altimeter!!
    i did not make the accelerometer cal antil now

    Its mandatory?

    my H flyes very well with a normal drift as i use to fly in Angle Mode.
     
  3. Mortalis

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Gateway to Cape Cod
    Acceleromater and Altimeter are not related.
    To calibrate the accelerometer place the H on a known flat and level surface. I have a 24" level that I use to check the surface with before starting. Turn on the ST16 and let it come to at least the YUNEEC title, turn on the H, let both connect up, Go to Calibrate > Accelerometer. It only take a few seconds. I set my H in the direction of North out of habit for calibrating the compass because i normally do both while I'm at it.
     
    Marco Falchi likes this.
  4. Burntpixel

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Georgia
    After any firmware update,recalibration of the H is a must.
     
    Steve Carr likes this.
  5. Marco Falchi

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Italy
    I thank you for the information, but I'm confused about Altimeter.

    In the following thread:

    Is the "CCC mode" reliable ?

    OnTheRopes asks:
    "How do you calibrate altitude?"

    and Dreamwash responds:
    "Click GPS calibration in right side of ST16 screen
    Select Accelerometer calibration.
    I do this before every takeoff and make sure altitude on left side of ST16 is under 6"."

    Here it seems that the accelerometer calibration includes the altimeter calibration.

    What do you think about it ?
     
  6. humboldt 707

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    173
    You do both the compass and accelerometer when calibrating,go to YouTube for a quick Easey tutorial.
     
  7. Mortalis

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Gateway to Cape Cod
    It is my opinion that the responder confused altimeter with accelerometer.
     
  8. Mortalis

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Gateway to Cape Cod
    I just received this from Yuneec Customer sErvice
    -----Original Message-----
    From: Axel Penaloza
    Sent: 07/18/2016
    Subject: Altimeter Calibration

    Hi Kevin,

    Calibrating the accelerometer does not affect the altimeter. However, any variations observed in the altimeter may be attributed to the GPS signal. It is common to see a difference of a few feet in the altimeter due to the nature of GPS. Glad you're enjoying our product and have a Yuneec day!

    SH
    Customer Care
     
  9. DREAMWASH

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    29
    Altitude is calibrated back to 0ft when you select 'accelerometer calibrate'. I'm not confused. This has been the ONLY way I've found to zero out the altitude when I start a new flight in a new location.