Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. Tim Orourke

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    8
    After calibrating compass on 2 H's I need to recycle H to reconnect with S-16.
    Anyone else have this happen?
    Tim
     
  2. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    After any calibration the H should be power cycled.
     
    QuadBart likes this.
  3. Tim Orourke

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    8
    OK that I did not see in manual
    Thanks
    Tim
     
  4. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    It may not be in the manual Tim. I just know from experience.
     
    QuadBart and JohnL like this.
  5. Tim Orourke

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    8
    Just being causes my first H died after a few short flights. Bring this one on line slowly
    Thanks
    Tim
     
  6. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    Sorry Tim, but I don't understand your post. Can you explain?
     
  7. JTorsrud

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    8
    It is also beneficial to remove your Camera before calibrating the Compass. That way you don't risk damaging the Gimbal.

    That's what I do and it makes calibrating easier.
     
  8. WheelsUp

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    9
    +1
     
  9. abinder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    60
    I would think that if its hard on the gimbal, Yuneec would say something about it and they wouldn't have the videos showing the calibration with the gimbal installed.

    Is there a way to temporarily disable the gimbal ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. JTorsrud

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    8
    Unfortunately, Yuneec does not always tell you everything! I'm just saying it is easier to rotate and calibrate the compass without the Gimbal and Camera attached. With the camera and gimbal being flipped around and you only have 30 seconds to get it done, removing the gimbal and camera makes it easy. Plus, I don't think the stress on the gimbal flipping around is a good idea! And you don't have to calibrate the compass every time you fly. I know some people that do that.
     
  11. abinder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    60
    Why would it be "easier to rotate and calibrate the compass without the Gimbal and Camera attached" ????????

    I calibrate the compass every time; better safe than sorry.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  12. JTorsrud

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    8
    Try it sometime. The Gimbal and Camera come off very easily.

    When twisting the machine thru the calibration process, you are putting stress on the Gimbal that it would not happen under a normal load. Since you have to do the calibration quite quickly to keep within the 30 second time frame, this works well for me.

    I calibrate my compass if I travel more than 40 miles from my home site. Most of my flying is done right at home. No need to calibrate everytime!
     
  13. banned user

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    164
    It's not a good idea to calibrate your compass without the gimbal, you should calibrate it exactly as it will fly, if you wanted to be even more pedantic about it, you should calibrate it with the memory card in the camera.
    Any new ferro metallic part's that you add to the H after the calibration i.e. anything which is magnetically attractive in the camera will skew the compass values. How much depends on how close to the compass and how much ferro metallic parts you add.
     
    abinder likes this.
  14. JTorsrud

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    8
    The small amount of metal that is in the Gimbal and Camera is insignificant when it comes to the compass. And besides, here is what YUNEEC just sent me:


    Update for Case 8530 - "Compass Calibration without Gimbal"

    Hello Jeff,

    Yes, it is fine to remove the gimbal and camera to calibrate the compass on the Typhoon H.

    Glad I could help!

    Regards,

    Brandon Shelton

    Customer Care | Yuneec USA Inc.

    5555 Ontario Mills Parkway

    Ontario, CA 91764

    T: 909-259-5113

    www.yuneec.com
     
  15. banned user

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    164
    interesting,
    I would not have thought that the amount of ferro magnetic metal in the gimbal motors is by any means insignificant, however your email goes to show that the documented calibration procedure can be broken....edit - although I would not advise it
     
    #15 banned user, Jul 22, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2016
  16. abinder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    60
    I've been thinking about the "keep within the 30 second time frame".
    Where does it say you have only 30 seconds to calibrate the compass of the Typhoon H ?
    Only place I saw anything about only having 30 seconds to calibrate is the video for the calibration of the wizard.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  17. JTorsrud

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    8
     
  18. abinder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    60
    Are you sure it just doesn't 'time out' if it doesn't sense any movement of the Typhoon H ? Next time I'm out, I'll try to remember and extra slow doing the compass calibration.
    (It's very possible the 55 seconds you saw is just a 55 second time out if no movement is sensed.)


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  19. abinder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    60
    I never disputed your claim about removing the gimbal and Yuneec support saying it was okay.
    (I don't think anyone said that Yuneec didn't say that to you.)

    I don't know why you're bringing it up again.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk