Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

?
  1. Yes

  2. No

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Samuel Fowler

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Chicago
    Hello all,

    Knowing all the pros and cons of the new firmware - would you still update your firmware now?
     
  2. apexi

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    15
    Before yes because of all the great new additions. Just found out yesterday though that there's a huge drop in range. Some others are OK so my guess is it's not technically loss of range, but they've gotten way too aggressive in the dropout time so that instead of allowing you to reconnect if the signal briefly drops due to trees or interference, it just kicks into auto return and locks you out until it's come way back.

    If I knew that beforehand I definitely would not have not upgraded.
     
    Samuel Fowler likes this.
  3. FlushVision

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    52
    Neither yes or no at the moment. I've always hung around after a new firmware update for any of my drones to wait and see what issues came of it. My benchmark is to wait a month to see what's what. With DJI, then, there were times when a couple of updates came by within a month!
     
    abinder and Samuel Fowler like this.
  4. BobW55

    BobW55 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Melvin Michigan, In the thumb
    Have you ever seen a firmware update go 100% perfect for anything?
     
    Samuel Fowler likes this.
  5. Jimmylee

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    201
    Can you verify this is what is happening every time?

    Prior to this firmware I thought it was taking to long to engage RTH.

    I flew behind a tree once and it sat there and hovered for several minutes until I walked a half block to get connected again,
    never did go into RTH mode. If it momentarily picks up a signal and then looses it again it would never
    RTH so there has to be a delay after it initiates a RTH.

    I think DJI drones are 20-30 seconds before and after a RTH with no signal which is about right.
    .
     
  6. apexi

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yeah it was happening every time and getting super annoying as well. 20-30 second drop out time before RTH kicks in sounds reasonable, but this thing almost seemed like it was fighting me trying to head back even if I had my antennae pointed slightly low/high. Wouldn't even give me time to readjust my controller position before it would head back, but the WORST part is that it locks you out and telemetry won't reconnect until its come way back towards you. It's a bit ridiculous to see it in full view with clear signal and line of sight and it still not have telemetry. Never did that before on previous firmware.
     
  7. Jimmylee

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    201
    It sounds like your H is not acting like it should. Maybe a re-install of the firmware is in order.
    I have flown about 10 times since the new firmware and everything seems to be working normal.

    Once RTH mode is activated you have to manually abort it. But you should still get telemetry back.
     
    Steve Carr likes this.
  8. Jared

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    40
    I actually had an increase in range for video downlink and telemetry. Nothing negative about the update for me.
     
  9. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    I agree. Don't think this is a firmware issue. In any case, I'm happy with the update. Several improvements that I really like including the Exif data on the photos.
     
  10. apexi

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    15
    Since it seems some people have no range issues and others are, did some further testing in open fields. This time was able to get the H out to 5000 ft before I turned it around. I suspect that the new FW doesn't actually reduce the range but if there is any signal loss it kicks into return mode a bit too quickly giving the impression of lost range. This is more noticeable in urban environments with trees, buildings and interference.
     
  11. Dezzzy.D

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Victoria, BC Canada
    5000 foot range! holy crap, mine starts cutting at around 1800. total vid loss. then I'm too scared to go further. So you think I can?
     
  12. JCFlippen

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    168
    Location:
    Cardiff-Wales UK
    My H is fine. I fly VLOS without a problem apart from video drop out now and again. Camera still takes ages to connect.
     
  13. apexi

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    15
    Note this is with the FPVLR not the stock antennae!
     
  14. Bowens44

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    12
    There were no issues at all. Like previous updates it was easy and uneventful.