Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. teaken

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know if this is possible?
     
  2. BlueFighter8

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Bernardino, CA
    With a Typhoon Q500 4K it is. I've been flying mine without camera for the last month. I crashed hard and the camera is useless now. I bought a new Q500 4k, (I love them):) and since then I always fly my first drone without the camera just to play around. And the new one I use it when I feel like filming or something.
     
  3. DickHicks

    DickHicks Guest

    it flies just fine without the camera
     
  4. teaken

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys.
     
  5. raymond captuo

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    remsenburg ny 11960
    i was wondering the same thing....good to know as my camera and gimbal are in for service...
     
  6. Laura Turbeville

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Baytown, TX
    You can definitely fly without the camera... I've flown the Q5004K without the camera a few times and have gotten over 30 minutes of flight time.
     
    Simspeed likes this.
  7. Dana

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    6
    I just took out my camera too on a crash with landing gear up. What is the cost of the repair, and how long do you expect it will take to get back?
     
  8. raymond captuo

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    remsenburg ny 11960
     
  9. Laura Turbeville

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Baytown, TX

    The cost and transit time is really unknown until you get on the phone with Yuneec and they receive your bird. I'm sorry this happened to you!
     
    raymond captuo likes this.
  10. tinchob

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, ARG
    which is the procedure to take off the complete camera/gymbal assembly? video tutorial appreciated
     
  11. Haydn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Push up tab in front of the gymbal and slide it forward.
     
  12. tinchob

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, ARG
    Done! Tks!!
     
  13. Dragonflyerthom

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Guidon, Ar
    We have all flown W/O cameras for years.
     
  14. BobW55

    BobW55 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Melvin Michigan, In the thumb
    H is a blast to fly without the camera being dragged around.
    Turn off the GPS and have some real fun.
     
  15. teaken

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    This was why I originally asked, camera removed and GPS off the H goes pretty damn fast I have found, I'm too scared to take my eyes off it to look at the speed on the controller though. Not what it is intended for but it's the only thing I have to fly at the moment.
     
  16. Hunter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    Can you update the firmware for the H without a camera?

    Or do you update with the camera and then remove?
     
  17. raymond captuo

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    remsenburg ny 11960
    my camera is in for repair/exchange...but i think the update has to be with the camera on....maybe i'm wrong....maybe someone that knows will chime in....
     
  18. Hunter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    I think that is right. I am looking now to see if I can update using the GUI I just thought someone may have tried that.
    Too many toys not enough time! lol

    I have one crashed, I fixed but the camera gimbal arm is done for.

    Seems when switching away from auto mode and back it does not always start the green purple sequence and I flew into a tree. Lesson learned.

    Don't know if that is a switch issue or software.
     
  19. teaken

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It would be difficult to update without the camera as this is where the SD card is inserted containing the update file. There should be no problem removing the camera once the update is done, this is a bit of an assumption as I haven't tried flying without the camera since updating but I can't see why yuneec would remove the ability to fly without the camera.
     
  20. Hunter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    I only asked about the update because I had not had time to check the GUI which could possibly be a way to upgrade from the computer to the H.

    I was hoping someone had actually done that or knows if it is possible instead of speculation.

    I hope to check that myself tonight.

    I know it will fly without the camera because I have done it.