Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. EdFly

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hey guys, I'm new here but been watching for a while. I thought I recalled someone once saying that it was important to format the Micro SD card within the ST16 to be sure it was done correctly. I just got off the phone with Yuneec Customer Support and they said it HAD to be done from a PC. Anyone?
     
    Rayray likes this.
  2. abinder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    60
    I haven't reformatted my Sandisk micro SD since I bought and it seems to work okay.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. GRH

    GRH

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    8
    I did format the SD card that came with the "H" Pro on my desk top. Five successful flights with no issues, great machine.
     
    Subtle Shots likes this.
  4. Rayray

    Rayray Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    392
    Location:
    Pine Forests of Deep East Texas
    The SD cards I have bought lately came formatted, work fine in my H and ST-16.
     
  5. Cesar

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    34
    I suspect the reason they mentioned to use the ST16 to format the SD is because the transmitter doesn't support any format other than FAT as any other format it won't recognize it. I used my MacBook and it worked as long as the format is FAT.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. PatR

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    428
    Location:
    Columbia Gorge
    I format from a PC. So far I've used both FAT32 an ExFat formats with no problem. Use a quality brand card that's as fast as you can get. When you get a new card, delete whatever might be on it and use standard format, not quick format.
     
  7. JB1

    JB1

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    18
    I was told by a yuneec tech that 32GB and under use FAT and to use EXFAT for anything larger.
     
  8. JCFlippen

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    168
    Location:
    Cardiff-Wales UK
    I only use 32gb or 16gb cards and use a new card for each location. With large 64gb cards it's too many eggs in one basket if a card corrupts or is lost for some reason.
     
    abinder likes this.