Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. BillyTexas

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    168
    Ok so ive seen posts or other info about gps and glonass. I think i read that the phantom has both but yuneec chose to only use gps. Would there be a difference in accuracy if both were used? What would it take to make the H use both?

    Bill W.
     
  2. Rayray

    Rayray Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    Pine Forests of Deep East Texas
    I believe both companies use both GPS Sat systems.
     
  3. Picardo

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    20
    There's no official information from what i've seen that Yuneec would be using GLONASS.
     
  4. BillyTexas

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    168
    Everything ive seen says yuneec uses gps only.

    Bill W.
     
  5. zandoli

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    8
  6. BillyTexas

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    168
    I wonder how we can determine if that is correct. Anyone at any company can say anything they want...but without a way to prove it...how do we know.

    Bill W.
     
  7. BillyTexas

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    168
    [​IMG]

    Just found this on VHDRONES.COM

    But then says this in the description.

    Navigation

    In addition to GPS, the Typhoon H also has the ability to navigate using Russian GLONASS satellites. In addition, at CES Yuneec showed a future add-on hardware module allow the Typhoon H to use visual positioning via optical flow sensors when close to the ground. This capability promises to make the Typhoon H safer to fly indoors or in other situations when satellites are unavailable or obscured.

    Bill W.
     
  8. perry081064

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    8
    i "think" if no GLONASS was used , you wouldnt get anywhere near 20 satellites , i had a competitor drone a while back that didnt have the Russian GLONASS system and only managed to get around 10-12 Satellites max.
     
  9. Picardo

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    20
    But that's wrong Bill. There's no Auto-Land ...
     
  10. BillyTexas

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    168
    I dont trust all this....this is a company trying to sell the H. Just showing something i found. They are probably adding that because of return to home will land the aircraft and are trying to make it look better than the Q.

    Bill W.
     
    #10 BillyTexas, Oct 15, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2016
  11. BillyTexas

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    168
    Notice it says in description it has the ABILITY to use glonass

    Bill W.
     
  12. Typhoon Charlie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    Missoula Montana
    I concur, all GPS receivers I have used only get 10 to 12 satellites, where GPS/Glonass will receive up to 20.
     
  13. BillyTexas

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    168
    Ok...im getting the feeling that it uses both. But is there a way to determine that...loke some kind of software or telemtry reading .....whatever to see that it uses both....im just curious.

    Bill W.
     
  14. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    The Q500 and the H use glonass from the very beginning. You can connect the H to the GUI and see the sat information although I don't know if it really identifies which sats are used. If the claim was false the competition would be calling it out. You can rest assured they have all done thorough testing.
     
  15. Rayray

    Rayray Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    Pine Forests of Deep East Texas
    Also my belief. The USA has (now) about 31 Sats in world orbits, each circles the globe twice a day. Russia has at least 24 (now) in world orbit, each also circles the globe twice a day. As I understand it, virtually all devices being sold now that use GPS, be it phones or drones, utilize both systems.
     
    Steve Carr likes this.
  16. banned user

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    164
    For sure the H is using GLONASS I always get 15-20 sats, impossible on GPS alone. GONLASS approximately doubles the number of sat.
    Use this site to see how many sats are visible at your location and you can toggle the GPS/GLONASS button on and off to see. Home
     
    charliehorse likes this.
  17. Dragonflyerthom

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Guidon, Ar
    The Typhoon H uses GPS and glonass the Q 500 only uses the GPS system
     
  18. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    The Q500 has used both since they were introduced.
     
  19. Dragonflyerthom

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Guidon, Ar
    Steve I've had a Q 500+ since April 2015. It does not have glonass maybe yours does. I only get 6 to 8 GPS satellites on my ST 10+ and my QA500+ if you look above you will find Billy Texas post and it has the Q 500 4K and the Typhoon H go down and look at the GPS systems
     
    #19 Dragonflyerthom, Oct 17, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2016
  20. JCFlippen

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Cardiff-Wales UK
    Thats it. You only have 18 or so sats because the H uses Glonass and normal GPS.