Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

How Necessary is Part 107

Reaction score
Here's a question I'm wrestling with. I'm a photographer. Architecture, Real Estate, etc. Since the H I have to my thinking simply added another kind of camera to my arsenal. I would never charge my clients to fly my camera any more than I would charge them for using my tripod. My clients aren't at all concerned with the how when I shoot, just that the images are of a good quality and most of all that those images benefit them. SO why do I need the part 107? I get insurance, (Which is the only thing they ask of me)
I follow all the part 107 safety requirements and other rules. I charge my clients only for my skill and time and editing. The FAA has no control over any of those things.
This isn't to say that I won't get it, but I don't see that I really need it UNLESS, I have to be the pilot for someone else whey they use a controller to shoot the images.
Highly unlikely.

I appreciate any and all comments.

Thanks for the time.

Joe

If you use your H and make money from it, you are considered a commercial operator and MUST have a part 107 certification. The FAA does not care about the picture taking part, they are looking at it from the stand point that you are FLYING an aircraft. You could take the camera off and charge people to watch you fly and you would be considered commercial.
YES the FAA does have full authority to govern anything that flies is USA airspace.

Ok. But the FAA doesn't care if someone lets you fly voluntarily as long as you follow the rules on safety. So for instance, I ask someone to fly over their house because it's a great looking house. The owner says yes and then afterward they say how much they liked the images and video and can they buy it from me. What then? I can't sell it? I know I can give it away. It's just not that crystal clear. I'm not getting paid to fly.