Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. lordbrummi

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    24
    Here is the Howto:

     
    Graham likes this.
  2. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm Lost, most of your title instructions are hidden by tour main Title and can't be read! Also jumped to fast between steps and got lost! Maybe it's just me and my old mind! LOL ! But this is a great idea and very useful tool, just like DJI's Flight Log overlay, I hope you can redo in a easier follow along! As I am grateful for your information!;)
     
    yuneec53 likes this.
  3. lordbrummi

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    24
    You can find all Infos in the Video description too and if its to fast just use pause ;) Hope that helps
     
    DroneClone likes this.
  4. Paladin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Pittsburgh

    Drone,

    -Install Google Earth to your PC.

    -Get this tool.
    3rd file down on the right side.
    Downloads

    DIRECT LINK: http://h-elsner.mooo.com/downloads/q500log2kml_en.zip

    Unzip the tool/program from the zip archive. The tool/program is called "q500log2kml.exe"

    -Copy the telemetry data folder from your ST16 (under flightlogs) to your mSD card. Make sure you eject the SD card properly before you remove the mSD card or turn the ST16 off before you eject it.

    Note: I use an OTG cable and put the data onto a normal USB stick.

    You can also just use the supplied USB cable you get with the H to connect directly to your PC. You should see the files in a folder, just copy those to a folder on your PC.

    -Copy the telemetry folder from the ST16 to to your PC using whatever method you choose.

    -Run the "q500log2kml.exe" program.

    -In the "q500log2kml.exe" program select folder next to "Flightlog" and point that to the saved telemetry data folder you copied to the PC.

    -It will show you a list of your flights on the left. Numbered 00001, 00002 etc...

    -Choose the flight on the left you want to view or export.

    -Tabs can show you the data, histogram and settings.

    -Select the settings tab. Make sure under the Output Files section that KMZ is selected.

    -Export to kmz file by pressing SAVE.
    It will save a file in the same folder that contains your telemetry files.
    (If save is ghosted, select something other than kmz then select kmz again.)

    Edit: Actually I think when you hit save it just exports them all out at once.

    -Run Google Earth and import the kmz file you want to view.
    -->File->Open and select the file.

    That is it!

    Did that help?
     
    #4 Paladin, Jun 25, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2016
  5. John Boggan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll have to copy this into a Google doc. Great info
     
  6. Paladin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    I edited it a few time so make sure you get the latest version. i:)i
    Just trying to help. i:)i
     
  7. lordbrummi

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    24
    Or just do a rightclick on the kml File in your explorer and choose 'open with Google Earth'
     
  8. Paladin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Absolutely! You can set your PC to always open .kmz filetypes in GE as well.

    I didn't want to get overlay complicated. i:)i
     
  9. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks Paladin! To download Telemetry file to PC, can I just run a usb from 16 to PC? I hear the sd card drops into the 16 sometimes/ And thus never put it in, I have seen the files so don't see why not? Thanks!
     
  10. lordbrummi

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    24
    Yes you can do it this way also.
     
    DroneClone likes this.
  11. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Texas
    Thank you !
     
  12. Paladin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Absolutely! Any way that works for you to get the files to the PC is the way to do it. i:)i

    I added it to my post.
     
    #12 Paladin, Jun 25, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2016
    DroneClone likes this.
  13. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Texas
    "Run this toll" above, you mean the downloaded Zip file in step
    What do you mean"Run this File" ? The zip file in step 1 ? Thx's
     
  14. Paladin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Yes you have to unzip the tool/program from the zip file, that is kind of obvious I thought. i:)i

    I will add that step as well then. i:)i
     
    #14 Paladin, Jun 25, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2016
  15. griz11

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    16
    Or make it easy on yourself and just upload the telemetry file to exmaps.com.
     
  16. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Texas
    Too much $$$$
     
  17. Graham

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    86
    Paladin, absolutely brilliant, thank you!:)
    Works a treat!
    You wouldn't add an explanation of the colour codes for the Display Files display to the manual, e.g. pink and red under Date/Time, please?
     
  18. Paladin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    All credit goes to lordbrummi and the original video that he posted.

    I don't know much more than you do, I just walked through the process then wrote the directions that I did. i:)i

    However there is a manual for that program here:
    http://h-elsner.mooo.com/mydat/Q500log2kml_en.pdf

    According to that on page 4 it says:

    "In column Date/Time cells will be marked with color, if the interval between the time stamps is bigger than expected. This may be normal, but it indicates possibly bad radio conditions or high processor load in flight controller. Good to have an eye on it. Threshold 1: salmon - 600 ms Threshold 2: red - 2 sec"
     
    #18 Paladin, Jun 25, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2016
  19. Graham

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    86
    Then thanks to lordbrummi and yourself!
    I looked at early telemetry files and found where my H was assembled and flown in China, then Germany.:)
     
  20. lordbrummi

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    24
    Yes the tool is great, btw. mine was also flown in China.