Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    I fly the same spot after every update to test all features and I usually get 1,600-1,800 feet with out a GPS loss, but now with new firmware I am losing at about 950-1,100 feet!
    Am I alone on this newly unwanted feature!:mad:
     
  2. mwfoshee

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Hot Springs, Arkansas
    Do you mean the H loses satellite and location service, or connection with the ST16?
     
    Steve Carr likes this.
  3. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    I lose telemetry on the ST16 all my readings on the left column go empty, not disappear, but go blank readings, battery, voltage all , I still had camera view. And a couple times it would just stop 1,000 ft out and then start moving very slowly
     
    David Wilson likes this.
  4. mwfoshee

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Hot Springs, Arkansas
    My worst nightmare, how do you regain control, (in case you can't tell, I'm very new to this)
     
    DroneClone likes this.
  5. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    You can wait a moment and see if GPS picks back up (which mine did) or your can flip the switch to "H" RTH and see if it moves towards homepoint. Last resort is I turn off GPS and then you can manually fly her home!
     
    mwfoshee likes this.
  6. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    The camera signal remains connected, but H to 16 signal for the controller is lost
     
  7. Jimmylee

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    201
    I thought you were using a Itelite DBS antenna?

    Range is not a problem for me with new firmware, seems the same. I'm fighting the compass warning. o_O
     
    Brian Mackey likes this.
  8. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Do you wear the same clothes everyday? LOL ! :rolleyes: I do not always use the DBS, especially after a new firmware update, as I want to test all features in factory settings and equipment to see and be able to access their true strengths. Then I will fly with my DBS my friend!
     
    mwfoshee likes this.
  9. mwfoshee

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Hot Springs, Arkansas
    I've been practicing flying with GPS off, crashed my H for the first time today, wind was causing more drift toward a group of trees, I realized I had lost my orientation (why did i have the landing gear up?) And as it passed over a blackberry thicket it occurred to me I knew which way down was so I pulled back on the throttle stick and turned my H into a 1300$ hexiweedeater. To my surprise no harm done other than the cuts and scratches on my arms and legs (shorts and flip flops) from retrieving. When I got to it it was resting gently on the top with only a few vines wrapped up between the gimbal and camera (again why landing gear up?)

    What I need, experience with no real damage
     
  10. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Luckily Jimmie, that is one issue I am free of! I am sure you have tried reloading firmware and re-calibrations right? Not to be negative toyou, but did you not use the hacked firmware that was floating around for 1-2 days before the "Official" Yuneec one came out? Just wondering if it was corrupted files? I hope you get it resolved soon, let me know if you do!;)
     
  11. Jimmylee

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    201
    That may be a good idea now that you mention it.
    I should remove my fplvr and see if the annoying compass warning is affected, maybe to strong of a signal.
     
    DroneClone likes this.
  12. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes, I learned those lessons many times my friend too! What I did, and recommend is buy a cheap $50-$70 Hudson 107C and practice flying around, as they have no GPS they will really help improve skill flying with no GPS. They can take a licking and keep on ticking and are fun to fly and quite fast and zippy when flown out of beginner mode!;)
     
  13. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Hope it works well for ya!
     
  14. CAPTAINDRONE

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    838
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Is everything stock on your craft and transmitter?
     
  15. Jimmylee

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    201
    I was a bit concerned about the early firmware release so just to satisfy myself I did a byte by byte compare of the two firmware files
    and they are identical in every way.
    I would like to reset the H and reload the firmware again but Yuneec does not allow that to be done unless its a newer version.
     
    DroneClone likes this.
  16. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes Sir! Never use accessories till I confirm new firmwares are functional!
     
  17. alsey7

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    88
    yes after the last firmware update the range of the H has been reduced i used to go 8,000 ft distant with DBS antenna after that i lst rc connection and telemetry at 4,000 ft distant. i dont think Yuneec will ever fix the range issue
     
    David Wilson likes this.
  18. Rayray

    Rayray Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    384
    Location:
    Pine Forests of Deep East Texas
    GPS loss? Do you mean video or telemetry?
     
  19. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Telemetry my friend! The flight screen and camera picture is still viewable, but all the features on the left side of ST16 screen go blank, Battery level, distance, altitude , all of them state what they are, but the information in the boxes goes blank!:confused:
     
  20. CAPTAINDRONE

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    838
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Now you have me thinking... Perhaps (just a guess) that Yuneec has tweaked (in this firmware update) the transmission for the new ST16 Plus with the new external 3 antenna design.
     
    abinder and DroneClone like this.