Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. Intelien

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    I wanted to take my drone higher then 400 Feet so I plugged my drone in my PC. Using the GUI that yuneec provided I changed the default from 91/122m to 200/300m. I felt safe doing this as the place I take it to is clear. Anyway using stock equipment I am consistently losing telemetry info when the drone goes past about 630 feet in altitude. Video feed is fine and I am still able to control it. Once that happened I brought the drone back down until I regained the telemetry info.

    My question is. Is this the expected behavior? I have read and seen some videos where the complaint was the antennae placement can block a signal. I am also debating about having the antennae mod done.
     
  2. banned user

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    164
    Thats only about 200, it's not normal, on the stock setup I can go 1km easily, I think most others would be the same or you would read a lot more about it here. Maybe you have a lot of RF interference where you are?
     
  3. Intelien

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    I don't think I do. I can however see a cell tower about a mile from me but I don't think that should be an issue.
     
  4. Vertigo Drones

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Webster, NY
    This is likely due to the orientation of your transmitting antenna on the H. Yuneec positions them vertically to maximize flight distance horizontally. Unfortunately, this also causes a dead zone under the drone where its antenna becomes ineffective. So when you fly it straight up, you loose connection much sooner.

    Fix: Change the orientation of the antenna on the H to be in more of a horizontal position. This may reduce flight distance horizontally but should fix the problem.

    The picture on the left is like the antenna on the H. There are dead zones above and below.
    [​IMG]



    We love tough questions, you can contact us directly on our website www.VertigoDrones.com our team of aviators and engineers have a wealth of knowledge!
     
    m5zealot likes this.
  5. Old Jar Head

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    35
    Vertigo: Thank you for the illustration. And thank you for the excellent customer service last week. I was very impressed!

    Intelien: Just had mine up 400 feet and out 2500 ft without a hiccup. Try going out a hundred feet THEN up.
     
    Vertigo Drones likes this.
  6. Intelien

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks a lot guys I will try that. I am taking baby steps with doing things on this drone since it is my first.
     
  7. Dragonflyerthom

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Guidon, Ar
    What country are you in. I sure hope it's not the USA. The faa monitor this site. They are the robots on the right side.
     
  8. Old Jar Head

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    35
    2500 feet out? Still in LOS, and didn't go above 400 ft. Why would this be a problem?

    Oh, duh. Never mind.
     
  9. nippa

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Telemetry is NOT shown over 199,9m / 656 feet altitude at the current firmware." This information is from official Finland Yuneec dealer.
     
  10. Intelien

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5

    Thanks for that info. I wonder why that is?
     
  11. DarkWhiteChocolate

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    23
    I have the same issue, it stops around 656-658... it would be nice to see how far up I am.