Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

My Q4K will not take pictures... but will Movies?

Discussion in 'Q500 4K Help' started by timkim, Nov 21, 2015.

  1. timkim

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had my Q554K for a few months and at first I could take still pictures but for some reason I'm not able to any more, BTW it takes grate movies any suggestions or has anyone had the same problem?
     
  2. solidsteak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Apparently, the photo function doesn't work unless the resolution is above 1080p.
     
    Fleamac likes this.
  3. Yuneec_Usa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    149
    Location:
    Ontario, CA
    You may film and take stills on 4k. 1080 you must switch back and forth.
     
    Fleamac likes this.
  4. timkim

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I take off and hover and I'll take a picture or 2, then I'll shoot some movies... I'll land and the only thing I see is movies.. never a picture.. I'm still at a loss..
    So my resolution must be above 1080p to take a picture? Or dose it matter..
     
  5. Joseph Bommarito

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had same problem called tech support and I had the wrong camera selected. I had to select 3 pro
     
  6. Wingshooter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Crossville, Tn - East Tennessee
    You are saying that the on the 4k you should have selected Cgo3 Pro. Is this true?
     
  7. Schwabby

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    In Pro mode you will see 2 little icons on the right side of the display you ave to highlight the camera icon to take a picture then switch to video icon to shoot video. Read the instructions it shows how
     
  8. wedbster

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    45
    The "instructions" user manual do not tell everything.

    You have two modes, thats correct.
    1) Video-Mode
    2) Photo-Mode

    In Photo-Mode, you can not start video-recording, only take photos in
    maximum resolution @ 4000x3000 pixel jpg OR dng (raw) and only in this mode.

    In Video-Mode, you can take photos and recording videos, but not at the same time.
    If you like to take a photo in video-mode, you have first stop the recording and
    you only can take photos in video-mode by the the video-resolutions:

    Video-Modes:
    4096x2160F25 1.90:1 (256:135) 4K
    4096x2160F24 1.90:1 (256:135) 4K
    3840x2160F30 1.78:1 (16:9) Ultra HD
    3840x2160F25 1.78:1 (16:9) Ultra HD
    3840x2160F24 1.78:1 (16:9) Ultra HD
    3840x1440F30 2,67:1 (24:9)
    3840x1440F24 2,67:1 (24:9)
    1920x1080F120 1.78:1 (16:9) Full HD
    *1920x1080F60 1.78:1 (16:9) Full HD
    *1920x1080F50 1.78:1 (16:9) Full HD
    *1920x1080F48 1.78:1 (16:9) Full HD
    *1920x1080F30 1.78:1 (16:9) Full HD
    *1920x1080F25 1.78:1 (16:9) Full HD
    *1920x1080F24 1.78:1 (16:9) Full HD
    * > no photo-function ... notification in top of the display, while trying to take a photo.

    Photo-Mode:
    4000x3000 1.33:1(4:3)

    Further, the pictures are different in their color, changing the video-resolution.

    If you like to take photos, you should change to photo-mode.
     
  9. Wingshooter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Crossville, Tn - East Tennessee
    Was wondering where you pulled this information from. Especially the detailed list of Image Size that would allow Pictures.
     
  10. wedbster

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    45
    Why wondering ? tested by my self with my ST10+ and 500 4K :)
     
    Wingshooter likes this.
  11. Wingshooter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Crossville, Tn - East Tennessee
    Well sometimes I like to read for myself is why I was wondering. Also sometimes you just want to make sure what you are reading is valid. You know what they say, 'If it is on the Internet it must be True'. Thanks for testing this out explains alot to me.
     
  12. Wingshooter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Crossville, Tn - East Tennessee

    wedbster,


    I have been studying your notations above. In Video-Modes I understand you have to stop the video recording to take a picture. According to your notes and the way I see it you can take a picture at the Current Video Resolution in all the Video Modes except the ones noted by *. Correct?

    For example - If I was shooting Video at 1920x1080F120 and I stopped Video Recording to get a Picture then my picture would be at a resolution of 1920x1080?

    But if I was recording video at 1920x1080F60 I would not be able to stop Video Recording to snapped a picture in Video Mode at all. I would have to switch to Photo Mode and then my Picture would be at 4000x3000 resolution.


     
  13. Wingshooter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Crossville, Tn - East Tennessee


    Notice the difference the two settings have. Almost like the 120fps was zoomed in.
     
  14. Dennis Keller

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had noticed that for both the photo and video options you only need to depress each corresponding button quickly in order for it to register your command. Holding the buttons down for to long will not engage the photo or video function. One only needs to depress button very quickly. No sure if that is was is causing your problem but it was worth mentioning.
     
  15. Toolman

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey what did you notice when you had the wrong setting selected? I'd did the same thing. Mine was on cgo3 and it was very hit or miss to record. When I switched it to cgo3 pro it was fine.
    Was that your experience?
     
  16. NRRTRAINS

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    STATEN ISLAND NEW YORK
    hi
    when you use the video setting and you stop and take a photo it will capture the photo but if you hit the camera icon it will capture the photo at a higher megapixel .
     
  17. NRRTRAINS

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    STATEN ISLAND NEW YORK
    below taken from the manual

    Press to enter Photo Capturing, and press Button A to take pictures.
    in this mode, the photos taken are 12 megapixels.
    Press to enter Video Recording, and press Button B to start or stop
    recording.
    CAUTION: ALWAYS stop recording video before turning off the
    TYPHOON/CGO3 to avoid data loss. If you accidentally turn off the
    TYPHOON/CGO3 before you stop recording, re-insert microSDcard (if
    removed) and turn the system on again. Wait approximately 20 seconds
    until the camera LED starts to glow solid green indicating the last video
    file was recovered.
    CAUTION: When enter Photo Capturing, video recording is disabled.
    You MUST switch to video recording to start record videos. During
    video recording, picture taking (Button A) is accessible. The resolution is
    set by the video resolution. In this mode, you will capture still phtos
    from the video.