Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. Dragonflyerthom

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Guidon, Ar
    I just talked with one of the customer service reps at yuneec in California. He informed me that the new firmware is not for us it is for the Typhoon H pro.now why weren't we informed of this before we went through the new firmware. I believe that's why we're having the problem we re having. Did they crank up the transmitter for the Typhoon H pro? Why arent we getting the better transmitter?
     
  2. 1mikeinaz

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    13
    well yuneec should have posted that on the web site that it was for the TH pro only
     
  3. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    I think you must have gotten a clueless rep. The H is the same regardless of the name. If it was for the Pro only it would have been labeled "H Pro" just as the updates for the ST10+ were labeled.
     
    QuadBart likes this.
  4. THoff

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    101
    The CS rep is wrong.
     
    QuadBart likes this.
  5. SneakinUpOnU

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    18
    Agreed ... they would have been smart enough (I hope) to program the update mechanism to read what type of files they were writing over before proceeding
     
  6. VortexRing

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    So.California
    huh? i am not having any problems with the new firmware.
     
  7. Chilcotin

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    new firmware working great. Yes there was extra code written in for the realsense. Not going to make any difference, its for both versions
     
  8. KBflyer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    274
    I wonder if during this CS rep interview he was asked just how much he knew about Yuneec and UAV's? Probably got the job because he/she can be polite on the phone. :) He/she is probably still trying to sort out their cue cards that fell on the floor. LOL
     
    Steve Carr likes this.
  9. Dragonflyerthom

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Guidon, Ar
    They are to sort it out and call me back. I'll keep you posted.
     
    Steve Carr likes this.
  10. Jared

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    40

    There is no fundamental difference between the non-pro and pro models. The only difference is the non-pro models did not have the module installed by a technician at an assembly line. Buying the additional modules that are installed on the H Pro makes it the same as the Pro model. Concerning the ST16, unless there is a different radio then regardless of antennae configuration the code should be no different. I could be wrong though, just my thought.
     
    Steve Carr likes this.
  11. Jimmylee

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    201
    Ha Ha, Dragon, you sure like to stir the pot when you start a thread. LOL :p
     
    David Wilson and Rayray like this.
  12. Hal

    Hal

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    54
    Regardless of Advance or Pro models…. I would like to suggest that the firmware most likely did not change the output power of the ST16 transmitter--- Those adjustments are usually made with hardware and a "pot" then in software. My guess is that any handshake or RTH setting was tweaked and the TH responds differently with any loss of signal or "glitch" in the data stream from the controller to the bird.

    Perhaps perceived as shorter range?
     
    #12 Hal, Jul 22, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2016
  13. David Wilson

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    128
    This post sure got me stirred up when I started reading it. But as stated above, it makes absolutely no sense. My update is working great. And with all the new, inexperienced help they have had to hire I'm surprised we don't hear more crazy information more often.
     
    KBflyer likes this.
  14. Samuel Fowler

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Chicago
    Capture.JPG

    Apparently the site is down....maybe they took it down due to issues????
     
  15. KBflyer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    274
    No problem here connecting to the download site
     
  16. JCFlippen

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Cardiff-Wales UK
    I have heard that owners of the ST16 mk1 will be getting free extra antenna bits to fit themselves or can be fitted at a Yuneec service centre for a small charge. We can all have ST16 mk2 controllers ... sometime.
     
    Wileytrigger21 likes this.
  17. KBflyer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    274
    I'm sorry but what is a "ST16 mk2 controller" I think I must of missed the mk2 part please explain
     
  18. THoff

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    101
    That's the controller that comes with the Typhoon H Pro -- it has an extra pole antenna.
     
  19. Markinter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    So Cal
    I heard from a rep who said if you remove your propellers you can't reinstall them because they'll only work in the H Pro after that.
     
    Kahuken and Steve Carr like this.
  20. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    Sounds like he was being a smartass. Just pullin' your leg.
     
    Markinter likes this.