Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

New Pilot

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm new to flying drones and I'm looking to purchase my first one. I hear alot of debate about the typhoon H and the DJI Magic. I've heard pros and cons about both and im not sure where to get started. I was in Costco yesterday and to my surprise they had a Typoon H on a display. The price was $975 for the complete package. I like buying from Costco because they have a great return policy. I like both the Magic and the Typhoon. Any advise on which one is a better choice to get started with?

I'll suggest neither. Both are excellent aircraft but both share a high price for a beginner to crash. Both fly very well and provide great video, when in the hands of those that know how to use them. In other words, those with some experience will be the most successful, have the most fun, and see their expensive camera rigs last a long time.

Beginners crash a lot because they don't understand how to use the flight controls. Crashes make things break, and broken stuff is expensive to fix. For your first multirotor, buy an inexpensive "trainer" at Costco or elsewhere. Something that costs less than $100.00. Learn to fly with that, letting it bear the brunt of your early mistakes. You will save many hundreds of $$ in repairs for a camera rig that way because it won't be the rig that gets crashed a lot. You don't need a camera when learning how to fly.

Reactions: JizzyGillespie
Subzero,
You will get many varied opinions as to which is the better choice.
PatR gave you some good advice on a trainer. I still have mine trainer and have crashed it into more trees and walls then I can count. I had 2 fly away's with it, and still fly it today.
After you gain some experience flying, best question to ask is: What do you want to do with yours?