Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

?
  1. I have installed the 11/16/2016 firmware.

    125 vote(s)
    74.9%
  2. I used the auto update using the ST16 menu.

    53 vote(s)
    31.7%
  3. I have flown following the update and everything seems to work as expected.

    82 vote(s)
    49.1%
  4. After updating I have a new problem.

    43 vote(s)
    25.7%
  5. The landing seems to have improved with this update.

    21 vote(s)
    12.6%
  6. I like the new accelerometer calibration.

    21 vote(s)
    12.6%
  7. I have tried the new muti ST16 connection to the camera.

    9 vote(s)
    5.4%
  8. I don't plan to install this update.

    11 vote(s)
    6.6%
  9. It bricked my H

    17 vote(s)
    10.2%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. SoCalDroner

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Northridge, CA
    Do you have the H with the internal or external antenna?

    What version of the firmware is in this new "H"?

    I have tested the no landing with legs up (in Angle mode with RealSense off) and it works fine. It would not let me go below about 3.5 feet.

    I recommend that you do an Accelerometer calibration. In fact, you should calibrate Compass, Accelerometer and Gimbal. Make sure that your Accelerometer and Gimbal calibrations are on a level surface.
     
  2. Snagglesworth

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    25
    AP 1.29 is now installed, just needs a flight test to see how it is and whether it gives me compass errors.
    Thanks everyone
     
  3. SoCalDroner

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Northridge, CA
    Please let us know how it goes.
     
  4. CraigCam

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    158
    Calibrate it twice in same spot. That seems to help gather more coordinates.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  5. dxer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    18
    There are two external antennas on H , the same as I had on previous H.
    Firmware is latest on H and ST16
    I already did accelerometer , gimbal and compass twice. Acc and gimbal on flat level surface.
    Like I said, it was going down and it almost hit ground, here is a picture.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. CraigCam

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    158
    Call Yuneec. That was the start of my warranty as that happened to me on a CCC route and they replaced my IMU. You can try recalibrating accelerometer but that did not fix mine. That's an unacceptable "drift".


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  7. dxer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    18
    Oh man, I just got this replacement. I will try to calibrate all over again and make some additional flights while I wait next week to contact Yuneec.
     
  8. Abby Harts

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    uk
    Thank you hun I will check it again as I have not looked at that for a bit and I have taken the camera off a few times so i will look into it.
    Thank you and I will keep you posted.
    Miss H
     
  9. Hoss

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    24
    Good luck...put mine in the mail yesterday. I'll let Yuneec figure it out.
     
  10. Snagglesworth

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    25
    Well I'm back from the test of firmware v3.01 with AP1.29.
    When I got to the flying site I did a double compass calibration doing slow steady rotations while pointing north (I don't usually do this but I'm trying everything!)
    Powered everything down for a minute then powered up and ran a battery through it. Within the first 30 secs I got a yellow flash but only one. On landing I checked the logs and had 3 compass calibration warnings.
    I then put another 3 batteries through the craft and have not had any more compass warnings :);):cool:
    Thanks for the tips of downgrading the AP. Gonna run some more batteries through it and keep checking those logs.
     
  11. CraigCam

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    158
    I had a similar experience post roll back. Checking logs helps but I'd be nice to know how many errors create a problem. Be great to see those in real time but as obsessive as we get here we'd never fly because we'd see one error in flight and want to land.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
    Snagglesworth likes this.
  12. SoCalDroner

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Northridge, CA
    Did you get a warning on the ST-16 at all about the compass calibration?
     
  13. Snagglesworth

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    25
    Not on the ST16 but I did get a yellow Fash on the H.
     
  14. deMARCOman

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Finally had a chance to fly it after the last update. Very disappointing. There's still considerable wandering up to 4 or 5 feet. Plus whenever the land gear goes up or down there's sudden erratic wander/jag back and forth up to almost 2 feet.

    I had re-calibrated everything, right twice.

    I almost want to go back 2 or 3 updates ago when I had ZERO wander and everything worked perfect.. that was the upgrade before the new features though.

    God this gets OLD.
     
    Drone_Video likes this.
  15. KitsapDronePilot

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    I installed the new update now my video is choppy?
     
  16. SoerenM

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys.. first time poster... we originally got a Typhoon H when it first came out and the firmware was still a little basic plus the controller/steering out of the box was a little "rough" imho.

    Over xmas/new year I'm staying in Florida and really wanted to fly plus got a great deal on an H here... long story short, first thing upgraded everything to the newest firmware/software, installed UAV Toolbox... very impressed/mind blown so far ;)

    Really like it and so far everything works perfectly. As usual I only do manual exposure and set the picture profile to "raw", tried CCC mode at max speed.. last couple of days it was unusually windy here in Orlando and I normally wouldn't fly in that weather, but after all the problem reports here I was curious, it held up really well.. in the end I even flew the preprogrammed CCC route that I was refining for a few days at max speed and the telemetry log shows very little deviation from the flight path. Happy camper!

    However one thing I noticed that doesn't go away (I cleaned the flight app data, rebooted, reinstalled etc) is that the FPV "proxy"/preview video that the ST16 now automatically saves on the controller itself when you hit the record video button seems to be quite corrupted. I haven't found anything about that on the forum yet so I'm wondering if its normal or just a fault of my unit in particular.
    Every MP4 has heavy artefacting/corruption in what I think are keyframe intervals (I think about every second it happens for a few frames) ... still ok to get a rough idea of what you filmed but super annoying to look at.
    Anybody else has this or is it just supposed to be like that?
     
  17. KitsapDronePilot

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm having a similar issue. On my first flights xmas morning, fresh outa the box the video was flawless, imported to my laptop and played fine. After the 3.01 update the medie_data files are artefacting and choppy and the MP4 files in the 100media file import as sound waves..... ??? I've been flying rc for years but this video stuff is a bit new to me.
    Any suggestions ?
     
  18. SoerenM

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kitsap, are you talking about the video recorded on the ST16 controller locally or the video from the SD card in the CGO3 camera on the copter itself?
    The latter works fine for me, only the smaller preview MP4 on the controller looks corrupted..
     
  19. KitsapDronePilot

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same here, and my dad is having the same issue. My other issue is the video importing as a sound file in windows media player, but they play fine from the ST16
     
  20. SoCalDroner

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Northridge, CA
    if you are recording a 4k file, the standard windows media player will only play the sound. Do a google search for free 4K video player. There is a version called "Media Player Classic Home Cinema" that will play the files properly.