Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. Jimmylee

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    201
    A couple of days ago I set up a Cable Cam route that went out about 1000 feet
    at 120 feet altitude and made a large circle and back, then saved it.

    I pulled that route up today to fly it and as it began I noticed it was flying
    a lot lower, maybe 70-80 feet high. I let it continue even though I new
    it was going to put a large tree between me and the H.

    I though it would be flying autonomously per what I read.

    Sure enough as it went behind the tree I lost all video and rc link.

    I waited about two minutes for it to emerge from behind the tree, nothing.

    Finally I walk down to the end of the block to see around the tree and there
    is the H just hovering where it lost rc connections.

    If it was really flying autonomously it would have continued its route.

    I was really disappointed it didn't at least initiate RTH with a lost signal
    for over two minutes.
     
    Bobjazz likes this.
  2. NRRTRAINS

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    STATEN ISLAND NEW YORK
    hi
    fly in line of sight , you lucked out it could have been a different story , a flyaway or crash into a tree . it's not worth you loosing your new H .
    fly safe
     
    Forrestt likes this.
  3. Chris A

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    34
    So far every time I have used CCC mode has work flawless and match height perfectly. Have always used in a open area with no obstructions.
     
  4. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Disable Smart Mode !!! LOL !!! When signal is lost , it will not fly any further, but you are correct, It should have RTH, Good thing you didn't find it in a tree though ! Glad for you it didn't !;)
     
    Forrestt likes this.
  5. Jimmylee

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    201
    How long does RTH take to initiate without a signal?
    Kind of worrisome if it does not work like it suppose to.
     
  6. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    10 seconds with complete signal loss, if it cuts in and out it will not initiate !
     
  7. Bobjazz

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, California
    Hmmm, interesting. I was under the impression that CCC mode was autonomous as well. From your experience, it doesn't appear to be. And why didn't it RTH? It's probably good that it didn't, else you would've ended up in a tree :eek:, but still. I'm confused :confused:
     
  8. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Jimmylee, where you flying higher than the tree? I know you said you were 70-80 feet, but could not see the H behind the tree, It is maybe a Blessing that it did not RTH, Because if the tree was taller, it may have RTT(Return to Tree) Instead ! LOL:(
     
  9. Jimmylee

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    201
    The tree was closer to me and the H would have cleared.
    I was without rc signal for two minutes because both video and rc said trying to connect.
    Suks that RTH don't work like it suppose to.
    After I walked down the block to see around tree it connected and I flew it home.
     
  10. Jimmylee

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    201
    Yes I was under that impression also but had my doubts and now confirmed.
    Yuneec and DJI have different idea what autonomous means.
    DJI - uploads waypint mission, no rc link needed.
    Yuneec - no user input needed, but need rc link.
     
    Bobjazz likes this.
  11. Bobjazz

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, California
    Yup, sounds like your right. RC is still controlling the aircraft. Not fully autonomous.
     
  12. Goh

    Goh

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    36
    Please feed back this to Yuneec for improvement .when lost signal the RTH should auto activated