Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    Without props , just fire up both without props and let me know if yours does what mine is doing and others? This will be profound and helpful to others.
    1) Turn on ST16
    2) Turn on H -"no props" !
    When it states "ready"
    3) Accelerate the Left stick to raise it, without mind you props on !
    Does the ESC inside the H make a clacetty sound?
    Let me know, and I will explain, and do but a couple seconds!
     
    Brian Mackey likes this.
  2. Brian Mackey

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Eagle Idaho

    YES same here --
     
  3. Hunter_Michael

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Fairhope, Alabama
    Yes, but was told by my supplier that is normal without props unless it's thru the GUI. You should get a prop warning on the 16 as well.
     
    Brian Mackey likes this.
  4. Brian Mackey

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Eagle Idaho
    Yep got that too :)
     
  5. Hunter_Michael

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Fairhope, Alabama
    Hook up to the GUI and you won't have the same issue.
     
    Brian Mackey likes this.
  6. Brian Mackey

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Eagle Idaho
    Correct :)
     
  7. David Wilson

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    128
    I thought I had a bad motor first time I did this. It's very common.
     
    Brian Mackey likes this.
  8. Basicbill

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Northeastern Illinois USA
    Normal according to Yuneec.
     
    Brian Mackey likes this.
  9. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks all!, I just wanted to make sure I wasn't alone on this! I thought I had a bad ESC or something !
     
    eric bee likes this.
  10. Typhoon Charlie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    Missoula Montana
    Motor timing. Most motors and ESCs will do that without a load.
     
    abinder likes this.
  11. JulesTEO

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Mexico
    I also tested that soon after I got my H, I always assumed it was normal behaviour.

    My reasoning being: One of the motors must send the first red flag upon abnormal speed increase (programming must assume a broken prop) thus triggering 5 motor mode; the "clacetty sound" I believe is the opposed motor doing its thing.

    Further test I made when I noticed this (you can try at your own risk): Once the error was triggered I picked up the H and moved it around a bit (as if it was moving around mid-flight); you will hear the motors responding accel/deccelerating as if the H is fighting to stabilize. Sounds pretty cool (and/or scary), but just for a few seconds though, I didn't want to overstress and burn out the motors.
     
  12. Brian Mackey

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Eagle Idaho
    [QUOTE="
    Further test I made when I noticed this (you can try at your own risk): Once the error was triggered I picked up the H and moved it around a bit (as if it was moving around mid-flight); you will hear the motors responding accel/deccelerating as if the H is fighting to stabilize. Sounds pretty cool (and/or scary), but just for a few seconds though, I didn't want to overstress and burn out the motors.[/QUOTE]

    Why?
     
  13. JulesTEO

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Mexico
    Why? I don't know! :D:D Curiosity perhaps? Wondering the old question "What would happen if?..." hehehe

    Here, I just recorded what I said for you guys to witness without risking to try it yourselves ;)



    P.S. No, the H wasn't damaged after this :rolleyes:
     
  14. Drone On

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    28
    Why? Curiosity perhaps? Wondering the old question "What would happen if?...

    Just like the famous last words....." Hold my beer I want to try something"....
     
  15. Brian Mackey

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Eagle Idaho
    hahahahahahahahaha :)
     
  16. JulesTEO

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Mexico
    :D:D Sort of, but with a bit of common sens; holding it up without props doesn't seem dangerous at all :rolleyes:
     
  17. K2BLS

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    It's not a good idea to throttle up without props. The ESCs are designed to operate under a certain load on them.
     
    abinder likes this.
  18. Panther6834

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    You should NEVER start the Typhoon H motors without the props attached...well, unless you want to take a chance in "killing" your drone. Due to the fail-safe function (ie. if one of the 6 motors fails in flight, the other 5 still allow the drone to be safely flown), when you start up the motors without any props attached, you're taking the chance of accidentally tricking the drone into thinking one of the motors has failed, which, in turn, could cause any of a few other possible problems. As to the specifics of what damage this could call, talk to a drone technician (preferably one at Yuneec, or at a Yuneec dealership).
     
  19. Panther6834

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    ...or so you hope. You might want to read my reply to DroneClone, as well as the comment left by K2BLS (also directed at DroneClone.
     
  20. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    Your can and have to, to set settings in the GUI, what I do to test motors my friend!
     
    abinder likes this.