Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. JRomer

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi -

    Hoping someone can point me to the settings they made, perhaps with a picture, showing the changes to the settings for the Video Record and Picture Record buttons to get rid of the multiple pushes needed to start a video or take a picture. I have found it takes 3 pushes to take a picture and as many as 5-6 to get a video to start recording. I am tying to reduce the issues I have with Video Record and Picture Record. As it stands, I need to hit the Video r

    I know there was a post up but cannot find it - the poster closed their account and I can only see references to some related posts.

    I would like to make some changes but am not quite certain how to do.

    Three battery charges in I really like this bird - I am taking it easy.

    I practiced landings today. I made over 30 landings using a variety of settings, starting with RTH, then in Smart Mode, then in Angle mode. I tried in Turtle Mode and in Rabbit Mode. After flying helicopters for many years and flying quads, I have found that other than one very slightly heavy landing I would categorize all my landings in the butter-smooth category. I have had no issues. The one RTH landing was a bit firm but no bounce and well under control.

    I had 2 landings with the wind around 10 MPH and still smooth.

    So much to learn about the bird still, but my work in Angle Mode has been very nice. Very responsive.

    Still need to fly this a lot more. I am struggling with a slow continual turn that is smooth. Add a gradual rise to it and I am not there.

    John
     
    John S likes this.
  2. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    I do not know if this will help you, but I had the same issue, till I fiqured out that in tapping camera button, it has to be a very quick tap on it, pushing it in for any length of time will not engage it, also a problem I had was, when I was video recording, I would switch it to camera icon and think I could just tap and shot photos, but learned you have to actually stop the recording as just switching the icon to camera from video would not allow the camera button to work? Hope your issue is simple as mine?
     
    QuadBart likes this.
  3. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    As far as slow turns, if you understand Expo, you can change the speed of the yaw output. I changed the factory setting as shown in Expo 4 to non-linear shown in Expo 5.
     

    Attached Files:

    John S and gregreh like this.
  4. JRomer

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks. I will give that a try tomorrow. Just need some more batteries so I can get more flying in......
     
  5. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    BTW, I'm going to change the max rate well below 100%. I can't imagine any case where I would need a yaw rate that fast. A fast yaw is a video killer.
     
  6. PatR

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    427
    Location:
    Columbia Gorge
    Hmmm, is there a way to mix yaw and roll together? Doing that would almost require another mode switch position though since we would be flying it like a winged aircraft.
     
  7. JohnL

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Gratallops, Spain
    Well yeah, Pat. If you've got a Taranis.;)
     
  8. gregreh

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    29
    Steve, can you explain how this affects the yaw please
     
  9. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    Can you explain step by step please? I know how to get the settings, is it in Channel Setting? and what did you access J2? to access the graph, just need to know step by step you access and what setting numbers you altered, Thanks Steve
     
  10. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    Don't see any number differences, still -100 and +100, did you just drag the lines down?, I Know what gains/expo are, but this access to gains setting is new to me!
     
  11. Milt

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Naples, Fl
    I had the same problem as DC and was really upset that I could not turn on the video recording without a whole bunch of pushes
    on the button. I tried pushing hard and holding it down waiting for it to maybe engage, but nothing. Then I just tapped it quick
    and it worked, so I tried it again and it worked. So the last few days all I do is tap on the button and works every time
    I try the old way and it will not work, this is crazy. I can take pictures as long as I tap fairly quick.
    Hope this helps you
     
  12. Goh

    Goh

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    36
    During the video recording, I was unable to take a picture
     
  13. PatR

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    427
    Location:
    Columbia Gorge
    RTM. You cannot take a picture while recording video, You have to stop the video and select camera. You can't take pictures and video at the same time with a hand held camera either.
     
  14. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    Were you in 4K ? I believe manual states in the top 3-4 highest resolution settings it will not snap a pic in video mode, only the lower resolution settings, also. make sure you turn video recording "OFF" before hitting camera shutter button ! See if that helps? Hope so !
     
    Goh likes this.
  15. Goh

    Goh

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    36
    Understand
     
  16. OnTheRopes

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Peak District, UK
    Is it possible for you to explain this in detail I would like to slow my yaw rate?
     
  17. Sparkorc

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    73

    If you wish to change the expo to as shown above to Expo 25% Channel J2, switch on ST16 once booted up select system settings click ok then click other settings then slide slider to Advance Mode, then tap the return key, then tap Channel Settings click ok, then tap J2 on left hand side, then tap Edit, once in that screen you will see more or less in the middle of screen top and bottom two Expo buttons marked + and - keep tapping the Expo + to raise it to 25% as in picture above then press save button then tap return key twice.

    I must point out that I have not tried these settings that was put up by someone else, I'm just telling you how that person change the yaw rate on Channel J2 by changing the Expo to 25%, but others may have already tried this setting and may comment with regards these settings.
     
    OnTheRopes likes this.
  18. OnTheRopes

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Peak District, UK
    Thanks, I will take a closer look later, just going out for a fly right now :)