Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

ST10+ Volume ?

Discussion in 'Q500 4K Help' started by Rick K., Jul 17, 2016.

  1. Rick K.

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    When I first turn on my ST10+ its very loud, is there a volume control to lower the start up volume?
     
  2. Chewman

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    To my knowledge there isn't...if you come across it let everyone know so we may all turn it down
     
  3. slowone096

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a you tube video out there somewhere about modifying / hacking your boot screen. It also tells you how to change the mp3 sound file that is that very loud boot up sound you refer to. It is not for the faint of heart but not impossible by any means. Any how what I did was use the instructions to "extract" a copy of the sound file to my pc then ran the sound file through a free shareware program called mp3gain. If you analyze it first you see it is at over 100 dB if I recall correctly. I set the gain to something like 60 dB then pushed it back into the ST10+ and now have a far more reasonable sound level at boot up. However, you have to redo this everytime you upgrade the ST10+ firmware because your modified file gets overwritten on an upgrade.

    Good Luck!
     
  4. Chewman

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks for the tip Slow...sounds like a lot of work to change the volume...I will probably keep trying to ignore that annoying boot up sound
     
  5. KBflyer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    274
    You could always open the ST10+ up and rip that darn speaker out :)
     
  6. Chewman

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Believe me it has crossed my mind
     
  7. Ari

    Ari

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Finland
    I don't think it's too loud when you start the ST10+ outside, though it startled me when I started the system first time inside the house. I think the volume was set with outside use in mind. :)
     
  8. NRRTRAINS

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    STATEN ISLAND NEW YORK
    hi
    one person on this site placed a cloth tape over the speaker vents on the back side of the ST-10 and he said it lowered the sound to an tolerable DB , worth a try you can always take the tape off . there is also a plus and minus volume control on the face of the ST-10 ( lower left side below screen ) but it will not adjust the start up volume just outer bells and chimes .
     
    #8 NRRTRAINS, Aug 22, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2016
  9. methodus

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    19
    Watch this youtube video how to install the ADB drivers for your computer:


    You don't need to enable root!
    Activate the USB debugging mode (see the video)
    Run the following command in the terminal: adb shell am start -a "android.settings.SOUND_SETTINGS"
    Then select "vibrate".

    [​IMG]

    This will shut-off all sounds of the ST10+, instead it will only vibrate.
     
  10. madievo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    or you can take out small speaker inside st10+ :D
     
  11. NRRTRAINS

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    STATEN ISLAND NEW YORK
    or just cut the wire :D , the next person mite want it or better yet , place a small slide switch on the back ( on / off ) or a volume control pot if you can take the st 10 apart i don't see a problem for this fix .