Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. Andyzonk

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Newquay - Cornwall - UK
    Has anyone noticed that the ST16 will not accept an SD card bigger than 32mb? If you are using (example) a 64mb card in the Cgo3+ and then transfer that card over to the ST16, it will not work. Or is this just on my system?
     
  2. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    Not sure, but have heard a lot of complaints that the opening has trouble inserting/removing "Any" sd card!
     
    Jeffrey Solorio likes this.
  3. Pete Stanford

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    I didn't receive an sd card with my drone so I called Yuneec usa and they are shipping me another one. In the meantime I went to Best Buy and purchased a 32 bit sd card and it works fine.I have noticed it is best to install the card in the controller with the controller upside down ( the nobs facing down ) that keeps it from falling down inside the controller and is a pain getting out when that happens.
     
    Cilent1 and DroneClone like this.
  4. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    Good tip !
     
    Brian Mackey likes this.
  5. Mortalis

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Gateway to Cape Cod
    Could be a formatting issue. The camera will recognize the exFat format, perhaps the controller does not.o_O
     
  6. WanderLust68

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    27
    ahhh...that could be my problem! I did the firmware updated on the H using a 64gb card and then tried to use the same card in the ST16 and I'm getting error messages when attempting the update saying either the file is corrupt or file not found....I will try with the 16gb card that came with the H.
     
  7. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    With my Phantoms, I only had success with the sd they sent me, so always use the supplied SD Card, Best of Success!
     
  8. Mortalis

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Gateway to Cape Cod
    I also get that same error message if I have inadvertently hit the little toggle that turns the SD card into read only when it is in the larger SD adapter and try to copy files off the card.
     
  9. K3CFPV

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Monrovia, MD
    Supposedly, you can view the CGO3 files on the ST16. Am using a 64GB SD card in the camera but could never see the files on the card. Thought it was because I have never used an Android device before (all Apple here at the house). But maybe it's the size. Will have to try a smaller one also.
     
    DroneClone likes this.
  10. K3CFPV

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Monrovia, MD
    The issue with SD cards and the ST16 (which currently runs Android 4.4.4 KitKat) is that it only has support for FAT32 and not exFAT. The card is not a limiting factor since a 64GB SD card formatted FAT32 works just fine but individual files will be limited to 4GB. The same 64GB card formatted in exFAT is not recognized by the ST16, but strangely enough, is recognized fine by the CGO3+. Since both FAT32 and exFAT are licensed by Microsoft, Yuneec evidently has permission (I hope) to use exFAT, so I'm not sure why the ST16 doesn't support it. Could be the version of KitKat they use doesn't have exFAT support?
     
  11. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    See New post, how to access Flight Logs from ST16
     
  12. Joseph Corrado

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Rockland, Maine
    I've used 32gb and a 256gb. Both worked great. Originally formated to exFAT. All good!
     
  13. Simspeed

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    14
    I'm using a 64GB in the camera but my videos only record up to about 1.85GB then split to a new file to continue the recording. Anyone with similar issues?
     
  14. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes, it is well known, and for now, happening to us all! Hope a firmware update will correct soon !
     
  15. Joseph Corrado

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Rockland, Maine
    I noticed that as well. It happens though at any size card. Doesn't really concern me though. As Drone Clone said... it'll most likely get fixed with a firmware update. I will say that I don't really trust my 256gb card. I wouldnt go higher than a reputable 128.
     
  16. aqua

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    Both work on the CGO3+ and ST16?
     
  17. Joseph Corrado

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Rockland, Maine
    Yes, the directory on the ST-16 showed all 256 gb available. I shot video with it in the CGO3+.
     
  18. Jeffrey Solorio

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    10
    That is my case. It is so difficult to insert a micro SD card inside designated slot on the ST16 I had to use a long thin point object Just to push it in properly. This is kinda ridiculous.
     
  19. Bucho

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi everybody,
    I had the same problem and that concerned me a lot ... until I found the final solution!
    I just get the ST16 it correctly reads the files that I had locked in a SanDisk 64 GB sdcard.
    Why ST16 could not do it until now? Who knows!
    The solution:
    - Let the Typhoon off, turn on the ST16, go Pad, click the icon-keyboard;
    - Mount your sdcard in ST16: put your finger on the message-icon on the top and left of the screen, then drag down; the message is "Blank removable storage (SD card) - Removable storage is blank or HAS unsupported filesystem";
    - CLICK ON THIS MESSAGE: the ST16 will offer to format your sdcard; agree and it's done!
    Note: if later you have to present to your PC the sdcard newly formatted by the ST16, Windows will offer to "repair"; REFUSE, copy to the sdcard the files you want the ST16 will read.
     
    #19 Bucho, Aug 6, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2016
  20. Aaron Bxxxx

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Perfect! This is exactly what I did with my 128GB SD Card.