Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. BobW55

    BobW55 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Melvin Michigan, In the thumb
    Seems like my ST-16 takes forever to connect with the camera. I get GPS lock long before the camera connects.
     
  2. yuneec53

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    london UK
    I was informed by a technical man in Yuneec UK today that they were aware of the long time to connect the camera. A temporary fix after 20 seconds wait or so was to refresh the camera connection on the ST 16. I imagine this will be one of the the snags that will come with the first updates patch.
     
    HarveyC likes this.
  3. BobW55

    BobW55 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Melvin Michigan, In the thumb
    Thanks Yuneec 53
    Will give that a try when I get home.
     
  4. Basicbill

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Northeastern Illinois USA
    Takes mine consistently about one minute and 2 seconds or less from the H power button press until "Welcome, Pilot" shows indicating the camera connection.

    Bill
     
  5. sdharris

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    56
    I receive welcome pilot immediately after the app opens, the connecting to camera over wifi takes 2-5 minutes and in some cases I have to reboot the Typhoon H.

    Hopefully they resolve the issue soon as waiting around on the ground with battery draining is not ideal even though the power draw is low.
     
  6. CAPTAINDRONE

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    847
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I had the same issue with my Typhoon H. I do agree it is a rather long period of time and it is using up valuable flight time. I'm sure Yuneec will come up with a fix in this model or future models.
     
  7. raptorheli2

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    60
    Glad i am not the only one :)

    How this wasnt picked up in beta is strange.
     
  8. yufasa

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    90
    Agreed! Someone in QA should have picked that up but it was probably not on the checklist and nobody cared to actually point it out.
     
  9. snerd

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Same here too, about 3 minutes on average to connect. Do not get Welcome Pilot message until after connect.
     
  10. yufasa

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    90
    If you click the settings menu and accept the warning and then back right back out the camera connects right away or it does for me anyway.
    Obviously a firmware issue and there should be a fix coming.
     
  11. snerd

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Will try that next flight!
     
  12. Basicbill

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Northeastern Illinois USA
    I read somewhere yesterday (Reading too many H related forums to remember.) That re-binding the CGO3+ solved the delayed connection problem.

    Bill
     
  13. Dragonflyerthom

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Guidon, Ar
    Wow.this is amazing. We have pushed and pushed for them to release the H, now we bitch because it's not perfect. Give them some time. They WILL come out with fixes. Cheezze.i am enjoying flying the heck outta mine
     
  14. Johnnybegood

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could be that the so called delay was because they needed to do a firmware so people didn't need to do it out of the box. Nothing like hearing that we still have to update damn near immediately. Oh and I get to call to have them repair my ST-16 since it arrived with the rattling fans as well. I love mine and know it will all get corrected but after this initial release fiasco, then yes I feel complaints about inexcusable issues missed in QA are more than acceptable.
     
  15. raptorheli2

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    60
    Rebinding the camera didn't change boot time for me and nor does in and out the menu. Must be hit or miss
     
  16. Dragonflyerthom

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Guidon, Ar
    Did you go into your settings on your ST 16.
     
  17. Bmwminirc10

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same issue here but worse. I have even waited 5-10 minutes and camera not connected.

    What seems to work for me is going into the settings and click on the reset button..
    Now another issue is I don't see the cgo3 camera to bind (shows please select device) after a couple of reboots both drone and st16 I see the camera and pair it put in the 1234567890 and it works
    Issue is it's a 15 minute process though.

    I just got my drone yesterday and I need to upgrade the st16 firmware will that fix it?(hopefully one day I can do it over a wifi connection)
     
  18. CAPTAINDRONE

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    847
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Turn on the ST16. When you see the words "YUNEEC", turn on the "H". By the time the "H" boots up the ST16 will already be searching for it. Look at the left side of the camera (from the front), the light will be red. If the light does not turn to a solid green within 1 minute, then repeat the entire process. Waiting any longer is just wasting battery flight time power. This is something I'm sure Yuneec will address over the coming months.

    FOOD FOR THOUGHT: I have not tried this on the Typhoon, as mine is in the shop for repairs/replacement, but when I owned a DJI Phantom Standard (the WiFi version), it sometimes had similar connection camera problems. The issue was that the controller was either too close to the Phantom or that there was interference causing errors in handshaking, thus causing the connection to recycle over and over. The fix was just to restart the process but stand in a different location from the Phantom. This could be the same problem with the Typhoon, but as noted, I can't test it at the moment.
     
  19. Bmwminirc10

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the tip.think i figured it out with your help. so you need that green light on the camera for it to work. if it doesn't than reboot the drone. From there if taking some time go into camera settings and click refresh. Immediately go back to home screen and it connects haven't had any issues
    thanks