Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Transition From Hover to Flight "Jerky"

Reaction score
Hi All,

Firstly hello everyone, newbie to the forum and from what I've seen there are some good help topics and discussion.

I've been flying r/c models for many years, multicopters for three or four years and recently purchased a Typhoon H which I flew for the first time this week. I have two questions.

1. When transitioning from hover to flight, the transition is not smooth, the Typhoon suddenly releases from locked position to moving. The best way to describe the action is "non proportional", just like a digital controller on a gamebox. It's not possible to fly the Typhoon slowly without it stop/starting from hover to flight. Anyone know the solution to resolve this as it should be possible to fly slowly and smoothly.
2. The altimeter reading seems inaccurate e.g. placed on the ground prior to take off and showing 4~6m high. Again, any solution?

Thanks

Hi, and welcome!

1) The GPS positioning with these things is overly aggressive. I usually start out in turtle mode and go to rabbit mode while moving. You'll find that it's silky smooth when the GPS is off.
2) Get used to it. To get a (more) accurate reading, I start it up, lift off for a few seconds, land, shut-down and re-start. The barometer re-zeros every time you start the motors. You'll also see it go off when hit by a gust, in windy conditions, or at speed. Be sure to take that into account when creating and flying CCC routes. I generally give it 10-15 feet of wiggle-room when creating my missions.

Reactions: GRH
You could also try using the "cruise control", the right hand side trim tabs allow you to set a speed that will cancel when you wiggle the right stick. I find using this method makes for nice smooth slow flight and nice footage.

Hi, and welcome!