Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. Loquacious

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    I got my Typhoon H at long last and decided to update to the latest firmware. I downloaded the file as per instructions then transferred it to the SD Card and inserted it into the CG03+ camera. Went to the update section on the ST16 when everything loaded up and pressed update. Every time I tried I got the message "update file cannot be found". I thought ok maybe I need to unzip it first so I did that and transferred it to the sd card and tried again.
    No cigar, still could not find the file. Out of frustration and a little bit of experience with file formats on windows I changed the file from a ".zip" to a ".bin" file and voila it found it and updated.

    My question is why is it downloading as a zip file not a bin file and how would someone with little knowledge of windows and file structures ever manage to to the update. I am using windows 10 so not sure if that was the culprit but it should have downloaded as a BIN file !!! Sorry for the long post.
     
    GunnyE9 likes this.
  2. Gyro108

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    West Midlands, UK
    Which browser? I use vivaldi and it downloaded it as an stl file which I knew was wrong, tried again in chrome and it was correct.
     
  3. Loquacious

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    I was using chrome
     
  4. Gyro108

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    West Midlands, UK
    There goes my theory then :oops:
     
  5. Loquacious

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    I think I found the culprit. I use IDM (internet download manager) I just downloaded the file again bypassing IDM and it downloaded it as a bin file !!!
     
    GunnyE9 likes this.
  6. Gyro108

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    West Midlands, UK
    Good to hear you found the problem.
     
    Loquacious likes this.
  7. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Or just click on the the zip file and then select "Extract" and it will change it to a bin file, but your finding will work also !
     
    GunnyE9 likes this.
  8. Chris McMillan

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    256
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    What DC said.... He knows...
     
    DroneClone likes this.
  9. QuadBart

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    USA
    I agree, if someone doesn't know it needs to be a .bin but it downloads as a .zip they may not know what to do. Fortunately, mine downloads as a bin file...
     
    DroneClone likes this.
  10. Loquacious

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    Unfortunately DC unzipping it did not work .. when I tried that and extracted it it became a ".zzz" file .. go figure.
     
  11. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Do yo
    U have a Zip reader installed on your PC ? it won't without one ! Try 7Zip Reader if you don't!
     
  12. Loquacious

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    I have 7 zip and it also extracted the file as a ".zzz" file .... I also used Winrar and Extract now all had same result.
     
  13. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Oh Well! can't explain, I have Windows 8.1 and 10 and it extracts just fine, always has from my P2,3 and H?
     
  14. Jimmylee

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    201
    I had the same problem, it downloads with a ZIP extension.

    Just rename the file, change ZIP to BIN and put on sd card and away you go.