Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. RBC

    RBC

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    88
    Some people on the forum have noticed the Typhoon H Pro with RealSense shown on Yuneec.com shows an SR16 with 3 antenna. Does anyone know what the purpose of the 3rd antenna is? I am thinking the purpose may be to improve video and/or telemetry range as Yuneec Tech Support does not think RealSense uses an antenna.
     
  2. yuneec53

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    london UK
    Looked closely on my video of the ST16 at the YUNEEC stand at the recent trade show last week. No third antenna shown there .Weird
     
  3. Paladin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    I have not seen that. RealSense is a passive system, requiring no input from the user so I have no idea.
     
  4. CAPTAINDRONE

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    843
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    The 3rd antenna has zero to do with realsense. If it did then we'd all have to buy new controllers when we attach the realsense module to our Typhoon's in early August.

    The 3rd antenna is just one more antenna which you can now angle in a slightly different orientation to the other so you have a wider spectrum of communication at range. Less signal drop outs will occur.
     
  5. Amatea

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
  6. wedbster

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    47
    Not the realsense need an antenna, but the 2,4Ghz uses two antennas
     
    Morten likes this.
  7. RBC

    RBC

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    88
    That's what I was thinking its purpose was for, but you would think that Yuneec would also update the ST16 for the Typhoon H's without RealSense as well, wouldn't you?
     
  8. yuneec53

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    london UK
  9. RBC

    RBC

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    88
    I called Yuneec Customer Service and they confirmed there is a 3rd antenna on the H Pro's ST16.
     
    Morten likes this.
  10. CAPTAINDRONE

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    843
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    My guess is that due to production costs, all future ST16 will have the 3 antennas. Maybe not right away, but by the fall. From a business cost perspective it makes no sense to make two models of the ST16 if only for the purpose of addiding one more antenna and Firmware to interact with Realsense and the IPS.

    When we get our realsense attachment devices in August, we will have to update the firmware on the "H" and ST16.

    I returned my "H" to Yuneec last month. The controller they sent me back is a newer model because the previous model had defects. Once they run out of the 2 antenna models all that should be available is the 3 antenna model. For those who send a damaged 2 antenna controller back to Yuneec in the fall, they will more than likely get back the 3 antenna model.
     
  11. Bobjazz

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, California
    Check out this video by Bo Lorentzen. At 25:48 he talks about George cracking open the ST16 and finding out that both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz have two antennas (diversity) each. Only one is external, the other internal.
    I'm guessing for the new ST16, they've made both 2.4GHz antennas external. Also in the picture with the two ST16's side by side, the newer ST16's antennas look longer than the old one. Probably 5dBi instead of the standard 3dBi ones.
     
    JohnL likes this.
  12. Paladin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Yes but the antenna locations have also changed. My question would be; is this 3rd antenna simply tapped off the same connection internally or is it on its own power amplifier?
     
    #12 Paladin, Jun 25, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2016
  13. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    All ST16's have a third antenna inside running on 2.4GHz for telemetry data. I think that is the reason I lose telemetry about the same time I lose video feed, although the telemetry reconnects sooner.
     
  14. Omar Dairky

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Glendale, CA
    Im seriously loosing faith in YUNEEC always adding **** and making you pay more why couldn't they just do this from the the get go? So July / August 2016 they're going to release the new ST16 and the RS module...whats going to happen by December? the Typhoon H Pro+ that has frickin laser beams? :D on a serious note this is getting ridiculous they are making a product that just came out obsolete in a few months, I will march right into their office and demand this new controller...this is a game were playing here people and were the test subjects and our own expense.
     
    Renshi and DroneDude like this.
  15. DroneDude

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Earth
    I am pissed. I want the new hotness. :eek::oops::mad::(:confused:
     
  16. cokeaddict

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Victoria - australia
    There is a saying...... "fools rush in". It's been said thousands of times before and these days it can relate to anything we buy.
    NEVER buy the 1st of anything, unless you enjoy the frustrations of improvements that you missed out on.
    It's not a bite at anyone, just a fact.
     
    Raydee38 likes this.
  17. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    Where the heck is all this coming from. There is one ST16......ONE. They all have 3 signals with antennas. 1) Control signal 2) Video signal 3) Telemetry. If someone has different information I'd like to see it. The RealSense is an optional add-on. The ST16 and the H are still the same.
     
    banned user and cokeaddict like this.
  18. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    Where did you ever get the idea your controller has 2 antennas???? They all have 3.
     
  19. RBC

    RBC

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    88
    This is the 3rd antenna I am talking about. This is from Yuneec's website.

    Typhoon series - Free Shipping in USA
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Intel® RealSense™ Technology
    Capable of detecting obstacles and intelligently navigating around them, Typhoon H with Intel® RealSense™ Technology gives you the freedom to explore new creative options.
     
  20. CAPTAINDRONE

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    843
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Sometimes this forum reminds me of Sesame Street. Everyone look at your ST16... how many antennas do you see? Count slowly...Two right? Now look at the picture of the new ST16 for the Typhoon H Pro and count the antennas. Three right. Good. Now reread my post.