Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Using WIFI Repeaters

Reaction score
Just curious if anyone has had any experience using WIFI repeaters with a drone?

I work in IT, and though I know Wireless Access Points, I am not sure if you could use a repeater with a drone.

Since the Typhoon H is strictly flown via 2.4GHz and 5.8GHz WIFI for camera, telemetry etc. I thought it'd be interesting to ask this question.

What I would like to do is play with a telescopic pole and stand that you could place a POE wireless Access Point upon with three long range dual band 2.4 & 2.8 GHz antenna.

If you could successfully fly your drone and the repeater would not confuse it, you could actually use a 12 volt power source, and actually use two access points mounted on two telescopic poles a 100 meters apart from each other.

The range if this worked would theoretically be just short of amazing and I won't tell you how far I was able to fly it before I had to call it home status.

I suspect though the Typhoon wouldn't like this, nor would the controller.
But it'd be fun to experiment with, but no point in doing this if this is going to cause issues with the control of The Drone.

I am more or less new to RC flying, so please excuse my question if it is Naive and Silly.

That won't work, at least not for controlling the drone. The RC channel is on 2.4GHz because it is unregulated, not because it uses WiFi.

That won't work, at least not for controlling the drone. The RC channel is on 2.4GHz because it is unregulated, not because it uses WiFi.
I think the camera is the only signal tgis would work with...i agree.

Bill W.

If you got a amateur radio license you could set up a repeater that would do the job for you.
The repeater would pick up your signal and then rebroadcast it, But I think you would have problem with the necessary offsets to get it to work properly.
It would take some engineering but it could be done.