Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. typhoonozzie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    I did my first recording today in 4K resolution using the included memory card. I then inserted the card in to my MacBook which I discovered that there were three different videos of the single recording session.

    Why did the H break the recording in to three sections instead of just having one?
     
  2. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    It appears the CGO cameras are programmed to keep files limited to 5 minutes. It is possible this is to prevent an entire flight video from being corrupted if a glitch were to occur. When you put the files together in an editor they are seamless. Even if the 5 minutes limit was removed, the Fat32 file system has a max file size, so 4k video would still be segmented.
     
  3. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    Most camera drones record videos in spurts of 5-8 minute videos, and the shorter and more with the higher you go in resolution(4K)
     
  4. FlushVision

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    52
    I can see the logic of recording in chunks (You only lose one chunk if things get corrupted) but it'd be nice to have the option of switching it to record the whole lot in one go.
     
  5. Greg Parker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    It is a file size limit affecting all cards; not a time limit. Go Pros do the same thing, DJI Ps have the same issue.

    The important question is do the files stitch together without losing frames. Go Pros don't loose frames, the P owners are disappointed to see lost frames between one file and the next.
     
  6. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    It's a file size
    They lose one or two files, not a big issue in editing though!
     
    #6 DroneClone, Jun 24, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2016
  7. Christopher Philips

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Monmouth County, NJ
    The larger video files can also choke up your computer! So these smaller segments make it much easier to work with in my opinion
     
  8. Greg Parker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    Tell that to the P guys that see a glitch in their videos where the lost frames are!
     
  9. W Scott Leigh

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Victoria, Texas
    I have a Canon 7D Mk II and it breaks video up in 15 min sections. So it's not just drone cameras that segment, just different time segments.
     
  10. Dragonflyerthom

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Guidon, Ar
    So as I understand it 4K smaller segments 1080P larger ones.
     
  11. JCFlippen

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    168
    Location:
    Cardiff-Wales UK
    I think it is to do with the general computer operating system. Files are usually 3.7gb. All cameras have to work within the standard operating protocol.
     
  12. Dragonflyerthom

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Guidon, Ar
    Technology is out pacing our purchases. Funny
     
  13. Tuna

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    UK
    It's to do with the way the disk is formatted. The maximum file size on Fat32 disks (ie. most SD cards) is 4Gb. Any video larger than that has to be split into separate files.