Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

C23 Gimbal Fix for Vibration

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
7,529
Reaction score
3,944
Location
Bessemer, MI
If you have a C23 camera that buzzes or vibrates this may fix the problem.

Download the attached file.
Unzip (uncompress) the file. The file name should be gimbal.yuneec
Copy the file to a formatted sd card that you normally use in the camera.
Install the card in the camera and watch the video below

NOTE: The file will be renamed gimbal.yuneec.updated after the install.

The testing and procedure was a team effort including @DCH and @WTFDproject. They spend many hours to provide this information. Thank you both.

 

Attachments

Last edited:

NorWiscPilot

Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Messages
1,510
Reaction score
887
Location
Northern Wisconsin, USA
Since @Steve Carr posted two threads (E90 and C23), I’ll post my same question in both threads...


So... a firmware update. I’m guessing the version details (date code, et al) will be forthcoming.

Just curious... is the “manually holding the camera level” a form of calibration workaround, due to the gimbal calibration no longer a user option?

Or is my memory too foggy as to what calibrations have been locked out of user accessibility?

Hope this turns out to be the end all, be all for the fix!

Jeff
 

DCH

Dr. FrankenPhoon
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
857
Reaction score
855
Age
73
Location
Olympic Peninsula
Even with the password to get into advanced calibration menu of the H Plus, gimbal calibration is not one of the options. You only get Compass, accelerotometer, and Gyro.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
7,529
Reaction score
3,944
Location
Bessemer, MI
So... a firmware update. I’m guessing the version details (date code, et al) will be forthcoming.
It's not a firmware update. It's a single file to update the gimbal only. I'm guessing it changes the PID settings in the gimbal but I have no way of knowing that. It is not a calibration.

Holding the camera during boot is a precautionary measure which gives the camera IMU a horizontal reference during boot. It may work without doing so, but it's best to follow this procedure.
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
7,529
Reaction score
3,944
Location
Bessemer, MI
The channel settings on the H can be restored to factory settings by resetting the controller. I'm not sure that will be the case with the H Plus. In addition, I find no user friendly information in that hidden menu. There are no additional calibrations and there are no channel settings. I see no practical use in accessing the menu and I suggest it is not a playground for any user.

Since there are people doing more in-depth testing of various functions who might find something useful, I suggest they get the password thru a request.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Age
28
Hello !

Just updated my gimball with this file, and it just broken my gimball. It's trying to start but vibrates and stays inactive for a minute and then tries to restart and gets stuck in this loop until no end...
Do you know how to fix this ?


I would also be interested by the password for calibration menu. I'm actualy running latest firmwares but with old app on my st16. I
Thanks a lot !
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
7,529
Reaction score
3,944
Location
Bessemer, MI
Download and unzip this file. Keep it in a separate folder named 784-Gimbal so you know which version it is.
There is no calibration menu for the H Plus.
Put the extracted file on an sd card and place in the camera. Power on only the H Plus. Wait at least 15 min before powering off the H Plus.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 6, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Age
28
Unfortunatly, it doesn't work. My gimbal still does the same thing.
I already tried to flash it back with 784 with no results.

Gimbal is shaking strongly and stops working after a few seconds. Then it restarts doing the same.
It looks like a calibration failure
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
7,529
Reaction score
3,944
Location
Bessemer, MI
Have you tried a reset on the camera?

Look at the file on the sd card that you used to see if the file name changed to "Updated". The file you copy to the sd card is a one-time use. You must format the card and then copy the file to the card each time you install.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Age
28
Yes, it's changed to "updated". I know that those files are one time use. After updates, I reformat my SD card and I copy the new file I want to flash.
I'll try again with build 784. But I already did 2 or 3 times with no success. The camera updates, restarts and then does the same strange moves.

Here is a video of the process and what it does :

I did not try a reset on the camera. I don't know how to do it :)

Thanks for your time
 
Last edited:

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
7,529
Reaction score
3,944
Location
Bessemer, MI
This is the reset button. But I don't expect it to be much benefit in this case. I can provide an older version of the gimbal file if you wish to try it. I think we are seeing a wide variation in these cameras regarding the PID requirement for each individual camera. One size does not seem to fit all. I also don't think the alignment procedure will fix this issue.

@WTFDproject, any thoughts on this? Downgrade the camera firmware as well as the gimbal?

BTW, nice work with the video.
 

Attachments

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
7,529
Reaction score
3,944
Location
Bessemer, MI
One other suggestion: Hold the camera level while the update is in progress and don't let go until it is fully rebooted.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mike Irish
Joined
Jun 6, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Age
28
Bonjour,
Sorry for this late reply. I tried a reset as explained in the pdf you sent me, but it seems that it doesn't work.
Maybe we can try with your old firmware. I already tried to downgrade camera.bin.
Or try all the firmwares that have been released from the oldest one to the newest and see if one is working ?
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
7,529
Reaction score
3,944
Location
Bessemer, MI
Or try all the firmwares that have been released from the oldest one to the newest and see if one is working ?
Please got to the firmware update menu on the ST16 and select Update. That will show the current firmware on the system. Take a screenshot and post it here so we can see the versions that are currently installed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mike Irish

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
1,932
Reaction score
1,336
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
the picture showing versions :
@Sblawx,
You have an existing firmware mismatch. I am not familiar with the consequences of this particular mismatch, but am aware unexpected issues sometimes occur when the firmware versions don't match.
I would recommend updating the controller APP to match the Controller System and the rest of your outfit.
 

Attachments

  • Like
Reactions: Steve Carr
Joined
Jun 6, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Age
28
Hello,
Sorry for this late reply.
I've already tried to get this version on my ST16s, but it doesn't affect the gimball at all.
I kept using build 782 only for the app to avoid the calibration menu being password protected.

By the way, I wonder if doing the calibration on the drone will help the gimball being stabilized. I don't know if it has a built in accelerometer or if it's using the one inside the drone.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
18,392
Messages
214,864
Members
21,321
Latest member
Alutacon