Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
8,353
Reaction score
4,865
Location
Bessemer, MI
If you have a C23 camera that buzzes or vibrates this may fix the problem.

Download the attached file.
Unzip (uncompress) the file. The file name should be gimbal.yuneec
Copy the file to a formatted sd card that you normally use in the camera.
Install the card in the camera and watch the video below

NOTE: The file will be renamed gimbal.yuneec.updated after the install.

The testing and procedure was a team effort including @DCH and @WTFDproject. They spend many hours to provide this information. Thank you both.

 

Attachments

  • gimbal fix.zip
    127 KB · Views: 105
Last edited:

NorWiscPilot

Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Messages
1,560
Reaction score
940
Location
Northern Wisconsin, USA
Since @Steve Carr posted two threads (E90 and C23), I’ll post my same question in both threads...


So... a firmware update. I’m guessing the version details (date code, et al) will be forthcoming.

Just curious... is the “manually holding the camera level” a form of calibration workaround, due to the gimbal calibration no longer a user option?

Or is my memory too foggy as to what calibrations have been locked out of user accessibility?

Hope this turns out to be the end all, be all for the fix!

Jeff
 

DCH

Dr. FrankenPhoon
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
901
Reaction score
927
Age
75
Location
Olympic Peninsula
Even with the password to get into advanced calibration menu of the H Plus, gimbal calibration is not one of the options. You only get Compass, accelerotometer, and Gyro.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
8,353
Reaction score
4,865
Location
Bessemer, MI
So... a firmware update. I’m guessing the version details (date code, et al) will be forthcoming.
It's not a firmware update. It's a single file to update the gimbal only. I'm guessing it changes the PID settings in the gimbal but I have no way of knowing that. It is not a calibration.

Holding the camera during boot is a precautionary measure which gives the camera IMU a horizontal reference during boot. It may work without doing so, but it's best to follow this procedure.
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
8,353
Reaction score
4,865
Location
Bessemer, MI
The channel settings on the H can be restored to factory settings by resetting the controller. I'm not sure that will be the case with the H Plus. In addition, I find no user friendly information in that hidden menu. There are no additional calibrations and there are no channel settings. I see no practical use in accessing the menu and I suggest it is not a playground for any user.

Since there are people doing more in-depth testing of various functions who might find something useful, I suggest they get the password thru a request.
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
8,353
Reaction score
4,865
Location
Bessemer, MI
Download and unzip this file. Keep it in a separate folder named 784-Gimbal so you know which version it is.
There is no calibration menu for the H Plus.
Put the extracted file on an sd card and place in the camera. Power on only the H Plus. Wait at least 15 min before powering off the H Plus.
 

Attachments

  • Gimbal-784.zip
    111.2 KB · Views: 26

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
8,353
Reaction score
4,865
Location
Bessemer, MI
Have you tried a reset on the camera?

Look at the file on the sd card that you used to see if the file name changed to "Updated". The file you copy to the sd card is a one-time use. You must format the card and then copy the file to the card each time you install.
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
8,353
Reaction score
4,865
Location
Bessemer, MI
This is the reset button. But I don't expect it to be much benefit in this case. I can provide an older version of the gimbal file if you wish to try it. I think we are seeing a wide variation in these cameras regarding the PID requirement for each individual camera. One size does not seem to fit all. I also don't think the alignment procedure will fix this issue.

@WTFDproject, any thoughts on this? Downgrade the camera firmware as well as the gimbal?

BTW, nice work with the video.
 

Attachments

  • Restart c23 und e90.pdf
    242.4 KB · Views: 35

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
8,353
Reaction score
4,865
Location
Bessemer, MI
One other suggestion: Hold the camera level while the update is in progress and don't let go until it is fully rebooted.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mike Irish

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
8,353
Reaction score
4,865
Location
Bessemer, MI
Or try all the firmwares that have been released from the oldest one to the newest and see if one is working ?
Please got to the firmware update menu on the ST16 and select Update. That will show the current firmware on the system. Take a screenshot and post it here so we can see the versions that are currently installed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mike Irish

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
3,432
Reaction score
2,706
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
the picture showing versions :
@Sblawx,
You have an existing firmware mismatch. I am not familiar with the consequences of this particular mismatch, but am aware unexpected issues sometimes occur when the firmware versions don't match.
I would recommend updating the controller APP to match the Controller System and the rest of your outfit.
 

Attachments

  • Firmware.jpg
    Firmware.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 23
  • Like
Reactions: Steve Carr
Joined
May 7, 2020
Messages
372
Reaction score
320
Hello,
Sorry for this late reply.
I've already tried to get this version on my ST16s, but it doesn't affect the gimball at all.
I kept using build 782 only for the app to avoid the calibration menu being password protected.

By the way, I wonder if doing the calibration on the drone will help the gimball being stabilized. I don't know if it has a built in accelerometer or if it's using the one inside the drone.

I noticed in your video a noise coming from the real sense module/under drone, I’m wondering if that’s normal. My new plus makes the same noise. Up close it sounds like a clicking noise, but I record it via phone camera it’s really loud in the playback. I also had a vibration gimbals issue as well. Does anyone else real sense make that noise?
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
8,353
Reaction score
4,865
Location
Bessemer, MI
Does anyone else real sense make that noise?
I believe the Obstacle Avoidance uses sonic sensors to detect objects in front of the aircraft. The frequency of the sound is outside the range of human hearing but the phone can "hear" it and records the sound. The down looking sensor on the RealSense may also be a sonic sensor and it uses a camera to find objects looking forward.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mike Irish
Joined
May 7, 2020
Messages
372
Reaction score
320
I believe the Obstacle Avoidance uses sonic sensors to detect objects in front of the aircraft. The frequency of the sound is outside the range of human hearing but the phone can "hear" it and records the sound. The down looking sensor on the RealSense may also be a sonic sensor and it uses a camera to find objects looking forward.

I can hear my RealSense clicking with my ears though, ever so slightly...and again, the camera picks it up a lot more.

Just not sure if it’s normal. I have real sense on one of my regular h drones and it doesn’t make that noise at all.

I’ve also reached out to the seller I bought the drone from and told them about the noise, for possibly a replacement, but now I’m second guessing “my issue” after hearing the gentlemen in this threads’ recording in post above.
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
8,353
Reaction score
4,865
Location
Bessemer, MI
Just not sure if it’s normal.
It is normal. I've heard the ticking noise on every video I've seen posted. Even w/o RealSense, there is still the OA sensor on the front that is a sonic sensor. The bottom sensor on the RealSense is also a sonic sensor. So there are two on your aircraft.
I see no reason to be concerned with this. It's a normal function of sonic sensors.
 
Joined
May 7, 2020
Messages
372
Reaction score
320
It is normal. I've heard the ticking noise on every video I've seen posted. Even w/o RealSense, there is still the OA sensor on the front that is a sonic sensor. The bottom sensor on the RealSense is also a sonic sensor. So there are two on your aircraft.
I see no reason to be concerned with this. It's a normal function of sonic sensors.

Excellent, thank you. It is a weird noise though for sure
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
20,618
Messages
237,927
Members
26,069
Latest member
GCorn