Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Camera wires broke off circuit board

Joined
Nov 1, 2015
Messages
157
Reaction score
38
Age
54
Location
West Michigan
Had my first crash with a 3 day old Q54K. The camera mount came apart and 3 wires disconnected from the mounts circuit board. And I couldn't find the rubber shock absorber. Dang it!

I emailed Yuneec and hope to hear something soon.

Just thought I'd share. This thing STILL rocks! Just user error.
20151108_111400.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2015
Messages
157
Reaction score
38
Age
54
Location
West Michigan
And, thanks to talking to Axel P. in Cali, problem fixed. Yuneec has great techs and customer service.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Jerry Elliott
Joined
Nov 26, 2015
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Age
22
I have the same problem, could you please tell me what they did? Did they tell you where each cable connects?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2015
Messages
473
Reaction score
46
Age
72
Location
San Antonio, Texas
And, thanks to talking to Axel P. in Cali, problem fixed. Yuneec has great techs and customer service.
Did they give you a Part Number for a replacement Board and Wire Harness? If so, please share. Removing 3 screws and taking the Board out still just leaves you with the same problem, right? Disconnected wiring?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2015
Messages
157
Reaction score
38
Age
54
Location
West Michigan
I've had numerous flights since removing the board and wires, everything's working fine. These disconnected wires and the wire we plug in are, apparently, the same thing.

Axel, the Yuneec tech said as much. I kept the board and cover just in case. Also, the Steady Grip works fine.
20151109_173652.jpg
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Age
62
Does someone know the proper wire connection points? I just can't understand fleamac's answer. Sorry.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Age
62
Hit a branch in flight. The camera/gimbal assembly separated from the mount plate. The four rubber isolators became separated. The four black wires stayed with the gimbal and broke off the pc board that is part of the mount plate. Since all the wires are the same color, I am trying to determine which wire solders where.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
411
Reaction score
98
Age
62
Location
Crossville, Tn - East Tennessee
I had a Blade 350 with Gimbal. I put zip ties thru my little rubber dampers, loosely so it would not cause a vibration but just enough in case it tried to fall off. It save me once. I heard on another site that Yuneec will void the warranty if you do this. Not sure why.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Age
62
Thanks. Indeed, they recommend that you do not do that and will void the warranty. They prefer that the camera come off like mine did if there is a crash. If you prevent this, you will crack some of the plastic parts which may be more costly to repair.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2015
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Age
77
Location
Chino Valley, Arizona
Does someone know the proper wire connection points? I just can't understand fleamac's answer. Sorry.
I was at Drones Plus in Phoenix, and they had a Q500 in for the "ripped out" wires. They didn't know how to fix it.

Upon close inspection, I found that the three solder pads on the circuit board were clearly marked "PWM" "GND" and "VCC".

Just resolder the wire to the appropriate pads. Install an additional section of wire if the wires are not long enough, using heat shrink to insulate the soldered joint.

You can use the cable that came with the Q500 in lieu of the surface contacts, and not need to do the repair.

RodeoGeorge
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Age
37
And, thanks to talking to Axel P. in Cali, problem fixed. Yuneec has great techs and customer service.
could you please give me a detailed explanation of how you fixed it? it's a weekend so customer support not available and I have experienced the exact same damage as yours..the 3 wires have snapped off the circuit board. also in my case, the PWM wire appears to have taken a piece of the circuit board with it :((
thanks.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Age
37
I was at Drones Plus in Phoenix, and they had a Q500 in for the "ripped out" wires. They didn't know how to fix it.

Upon close inspection, I found that the three solder pads on the circuit board were clearly marked "PWM" "GND" and "VCC".

Just resolder the wire to the appropriate pads. Install an additional section of wire if the wires are not long enough, using heat shrink to insulate the soldered joint.

You can use the cable that came with the Q500 in lieu of the surface contacts, and not need to do the repair.

RodeoGeorge
hi, what cable are you specifically referring to? and how do I use it in place of the wires?
thanks.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
16,986
Messages
198,354
Members
19,660
Latest member
nass007