Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

CGo3+ Geotagging

Reaction score
Hey All - I'm new to my Typhoon H, and had assumed because of the great GPS abillity that the JPGs would be "geotagged" ... they aren't at least i any way I can tell. Meaning the Lat and Long fields in the properties of any pics are 0, using the onboard camera tool. Is there any way to take pics with the drone that puts that information onto the pics ?

I'm trying to use it for inspection purposes, and this is a critical function for the mapping software. Thanks !
John

Last edited by a moderator:
By the onboard camera tool, are you referring to the gallery on the ST-16? I ask because those photos are lo-res from the video feed for in the field review. Check the photos on the SD card in a program like Lightroom or other good photo editor to check for geotagging.

In order to find the geotag information, insert the sd card into your (windows) PC and:
1. Right click the image
2. Select Properties
3. Select Details
4. Go down until you see "GPS"

Reactions: JD Flyer
Something else a bit important for those attempting mapping missions. The ST-16 stores only a very limited number of pictures and videos before over writing them. Not sure of the exact count but anyone trying to use controller stored images to make a map will be unsuccessful every time.

Gentleman I could kiss you ! I had assumed I had bought a several hundred dollar boondoggle. The first pic I checked was off the SD card, as a snapshot, but I'm going to update the firmware and try again.

The Application I'm trying to use is called "Scanifly" and they do solar evaluations from a geotagged mission. They stitch together a few hundred jpgs into a 3d autocad file of a home, suitable for laying out a panel design, complete with knowing where all the roof penetrations are.

What firmware are you going to update?