Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Creating 360 panoramas

Joined
Jun 3, 2016
Messages
21
Reaction score
6
Age
47
Excellent, River runner! Thank you!

I don't have photoshop, but have downloaded gimp to try. I can size the photo, select the area of sky, but that's where gimp differs. Does anyone know how to use the transform/scale in gimp? There are transform and scale buttons, but they don't function the same as photoshop.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Chris McMillan
Joined
Jun 12, 2016
Messages
47
Reaction score
7
Age
54
I have a Nikon KeyMission 360 camera and was thinking about attaching it to the existing camera! I know this probably won't work.

I expect in the future that some drones will have a 360 camera as standard.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2016
Messages
1,480
Reaction score
1,298
Age
49
Location
UK
Thanks for this! I used your tutorial and uploaded to 360cities with no problem. It's an awesome feature.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
64
Reaction score
11
Location
Poole
Hi RiverRunner.

Just watched your pano video.
Fantastic.
I'll watch it a few more times and it'll begin to sink in.
Thanks.

Jim
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
64
Reaction score
11
Location
Poole
I've tried the Microsoft Ice and Cyberlink Photodirector 8 but they don't stitch my Yuneec panorama shots very well.
Should I change some settings on the camera ?
Would we be better if Yuneec increased the number of shots in a circle from 8 to 12 or more ?
I tried the free program that someone posted on here but that failed and I got very bogged down trying to create points for it to reference.
Any suggestions ?

Jim
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2016
Messages
1,480
Reaction score
1,298
Age
49
Location
UK
I've had no problems with ICE - it just did it all completely automatically (18 photo panorama). As long as you have reasonable overlap (which they do) then it should be fine. It helps if there are plenty of features in the pictures for the stitching software to get hold of.

When you say 'not very well', what do you mean?
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2016
Messages
21
Reaction score
6
Age
47
I've tried the Microsoft Ice and Cyberlink Photodirector 8 but they don't stitch my Yuneec panorama shots very well.
Should I change some settings on the camera ?
Would we be better if Yuneec increased the number of shots in a circle from 8 to 12 or more ?
I tried the free program that someone posted on here but that failed and I got very bogged down trying to create points for it to reference.
Any suggestions ?

Jim
If you use the dual layer option, it takes 18.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
64
Reaction score
11
Location
Poole
Paul D: Yes 18 for dual layer but I meant for each circle so 26 or more. Splitting the image into smaller segments.

Tuna:
This sort of thing.
Probably as said above: Not enough features for the software to recognize ? ?


Jim
Capture.PNG
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2016
Messages
872
Reaction score
353
Age
70
I've tried the Microsoft Ice and Cyberlink Photodirector 8 but they don't stitch my Yuneec panorama shots very well.
Should I change some settings on the camera ?
Would we be better if Yuneec increased the number of shots in a circle from 8 to 12 or more ?
I tried the free program that someone posted on here but that failed and I got very bogged down trying to create points for it to reference.
Any suggestions ?

Jim
Jim,
You need to shoot the double layer panorama with the H. It make 18 shots. That's what you need to make the spherical panorama. ICE will stitch it automatically.
Screenshot_2016-11-16-08-41-15.png Screenshot_2016-11-16-08-41-36.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 9, 2016
Messages
1,480
Reaction score
1,298
Age
49
Location
UK
Paul D: Yes 18 for dual layer but I meant for each circle so 26 or more. Splitting the image into smaller segments.

Tuna:
This sort of thing.
Probably as said above: Not enough features for the software to recognize ? ?


Jim
View attachment 4157
You're right, that picture does look odd. It looks like the left and right edges don't match up - are you certain you picked the full set of images to stitch and didn't miss one out? I'd take a look at the original shots and just make sure you actually have a full 360 degree set.

If the software can't make a full circle, it may have problems aligning the horizon. Where pictures have large featureless areas, the software can find lining up the overlap difficult - apart from the horizon you're pretty much trying to match one wave with the next wave.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
64
Reaction score
11
Location
Poole
RiverRunner:
Thanks for the clear example but that's exactly what I did.
Just done another and here's the uncropped result.
Different set of pictures from before but it was 18
It looks as thought there isn't enough detail for the software to be sure what to stitch. ? ?
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 8, 2016
Messages
872
Reaction score
353
Age
70
RiverRunner:
Thanks for the clear example but that's exactly what I did.
Just done another and here's the uncropped result.
Different set of pictures from before but it was 18
It looks as thought there isn't enough detail for the software to be sure what to stitch. ? ?
The problem may be that the downward looking shots are all grass so there is no way for the software to figure out how to align them. I would try a new set of images with more unique details.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
64
Reaction score
11
Location
Poole
Thanks for the help Gents.
When I get a few minutes spare and some decent weather I'll find a venue with plenty of detail.
Cheers.

Jim
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
16,833
Messages
196,546
Members
19,530
Latest member
donnyboyyuneec