Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

'Fixing' a location in the air to shoot time-lapse photos and vids

Reaction score
I'm getting ready to build a new house here in Texas and I would like to use my H+ for time-lapse photos and videos of the construction. I plan to shoot 4 to 8 times per day (or more, depending on construction activity and/or weather) for about 10 to 12 months (it's a big house).

What mode, settings, or whatever, do I use to return to the same spot (elevation, latitude & longitude) every time I go airborne to shoot the photos and videos.

If this is a dumba$$ question, I apologize but I'm really a newbie and seriously technologically challenged at 78 years old.

Any help and/or advice will be sincerely appreciated.

Last edited:
I use the CCC function to fly to (or past) the desired position.
I record video, choose some landmarks, and get a frame grab at that point.
GPS location should vary by less than 10ft over the time of the project.
If you just want a quick photo, the H will just stop and hover at the last waypoint.
The first shots were done with an F450 (Old Shakey)
The Typhoon H shots start at 53 seconds in.

Last edited:
Reactions: Ty Pilot
A very low-tech but somewhat accurate way if you just doing photos would be to select locations around the property where you could puts stakes in the ground that would be left for the duration of the construction. At each marker you would have a specified height, so you would take-off, fly to altitude straight up and snap the pick. you could then just walk to the next location, fly to the new point at a low enough altitude to get over the next marker, rise to it's prescribed height and so on.

I found that over time, the height of the waypoints in CCC can vary quite a bit so if your doing it over months the accuracy for photos will be reduced. However for video like Sureshot shows CCC is quite good.

Another thing to note: