Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

H motors not starting

Joined
Aug 19, 2016
Messages
20
Reaction score
1
Location
Lincolnshire UK
Hi. Any advice will be much appreciated. My H will not start. I have the latest firmware installed, the ST16 is definitely bound to the H, I have calibrated everything (compass, gimbal, accelerometer). It will not start with our without GPS activated. I have 15 satellites but not acquiring GPS.

I wondered if this is a No fly Zone issue but this is happening in places I regularly fly.

I’ve read previous threads on here about this but still no solution ☹

Any advice very welcome! Thanks in anticipation.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2018
Messages
220
Reaction score
131
Age
34
Location
Central Florida
When you hold your arm button down. Do you receive a message on the screen? Have you gone to the calibration menu to verify your arming button is functioning by pressing it and seeing the button light up on the menu?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 19, 2016
Messages
20
Reaction score
1
Location
Lincolnshire UK
Hi. No message on the screen. Icon too right says “starting”. Going into the hardware menu the systems saysbthebswitchbis working fine. The H bleeps when pressing the start button. Very frustrating!
 

Eagle's Eye Video

Global Village Idiot
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 16, 2016
Messages
2,372
Reaction score
1,285
Location
Albuquerque NM
You can check the red button in Hardware Monitor as well... you might want to try creating a new model and binding to that one, to see if that makes any change.
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
5,886
Reaction score
2,541
Location
Bessemer, MI
Check the right stick. The motors won't start if the right stick isn't returning to exactly zero. That will cause a rapid beeping. "Stir" the stick rapidly for a few minutes and try it again. Also check the stick in Hardware Monitor.
Make sure it's in Angle mode and not Home mode. If it's in Home mode you may hear a beep when pressing Start.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: JackMTaco

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
5,886
Reaction score
2,541
Location
Bessemer, MI
Hi. Yes I do every time.
I have 15 satellites but not acquiring GPS.
You have confirmed nearly everything I can think might cause the motors not to start. After re-reading this post I see you said it shows 15 satellites but still says "Acquiring". If it is doing that consistently it would indicate a problem with the GPS module. However, turning off the GPS should still allow the motors to start. Does the Controller ever say "Ready"? If not, the motors will not start.
How many satellites does it show for the ST16?

As a next step create a new model and then bind to that model.
If that doesn't work then do a factory reset of the controller.

This past summer, because of the extreme heat in some locations, I noticed some Flight Controllers had failed. They simply were overheated. Is that a possibility in your case?
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2016
Messages
20
Reaction score
1
Location
Lincolnshire UK
You have confirmed nearly everything I can think might cause the motors not to start. After re-reading this post I see you said it shows 15 satellites but still says "Acquiring". If it is doing that consistently it would indicate a problem with the GPS module. However, turning off the GPS should still allow the motors to start. Does the Controller ever say "Ready"? If not, the motors will not start.
How many satellites does it show for the ST16?

As a next step create a new model and then bind to that model.
If that doesn't work then do a factory reset of the controller.

This past summer, because of the extreme heat in some locations, I noticed some Flight Controllers had failed. They simply were overheated. Is that a possibility in your case?
Hi. Thank you for your reply. The ST16 shows anything between 9 & 14 satellites. The controller always says “ready” which is why I am baffled, with or without GPS enabled.

I will create a new model in the controller and try that idea. This summer I was unable to fly the H due to having spinal surgery, so it wasn’t subjected to the crazy heat we experienced.

Will report back tomorrow when I get a chance to try this out. If that fails I suspect it needs to go to Yuneec for a complete checkup!
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
5,886
Reaction score
2,541
Location
Bessemer, MI
If that fails I suspect it needs to go to Yuneec for a complete checkup!
That may be the case. If creating a new model doesn't work please do a factory reset of the controller before you send it in.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2016
Messages
20
Reaction score
1
Location
Lincolnshire UK
So, factory reset and new model created. Nothing. Here is a screen shot if the software versions following update 2 days ago. Does this look right? Motors still will not start, despite 10 satellites, even with GPS disabled. Motor icon says "ready".
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2018
Messages
498
Reaction score
124
Age
53
Location
Uk
So, factory reset and new model created. Nothing. Here is a screen shot if the software versions following update 2 days ago. Does this look right? Motors still will not start, despite 10 satellites, even with GPS disabled. Motor icon says "ready".
Looks up-to date, only difference for me is gimbal, which is 1.27
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
14,998
Messages
173,060
Members
17,735
Latest member
Madbull