Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

H Plus will not start motors

Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
49
Received my drone back from Yuneec repair, had defective landing gear that would not come back down before landing.
Now that I have it back I can not get the motors to start, I get a short audible sound on the controller and drone and also notice a green arrow (like mouse pointer) in the middle of my display that goes away just as the audible tone stops. I have tried re-calibrating several times yet I notice on the display that GPS constantly reads "acquiring"
Also completed a Re-binding with same results, even in "H" flight mode (Red light on drone, blinking for no GPS) I still can not start motors with same results as above.

Drone was sent in for repair with controller, controller and drone both had neon green paint on them to differentiate between friends units so I am sure this is the units I sent in.
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
6,549
Reaction score
3,071
Location
Bessemer, MI
So to clarify: in an open outdoor area there are not numbers listed for satellites?
Does the ST16 acquire any satellites?
Do the units both have current firmware?
Where do you send it for repair?
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
49
testing in an outdoor area, number of satellites listed (shown in left column) is12,
odd thing is that you can not even start in "H" mode which I understand that you do not need GPS for this mode and motors should start with this condition selected

Sent for repair to a place in NY that Yuneec directed me to send to, its a radio repair place that is authorized to repair Yuneec drones from my understanding.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2018
Messages
21
Reaction score
4
Age
60
Just a thought,,Did you try re-binding it since you got it back?
If you sent it to VERTIGO DROWNS,everything should be good,,ive used them for repairs and they do a very nice job..
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
3,456
Reaction score
1,576
Location
The Vehicle City
testing in an outdoor area, number of satellites listed (shown in left column) is12,
odd thing is that you can not even start in "H" mode which I understand that you do not need GPS for this mode and motors should start with this condition selected

Sent for repair to a place in NY that Yuneec directed me to send to, its a radio repair place that is authorized to repair Yuneec drones from my understanding.
I think I saw your post in another forum and if that is the case you answered some of my questions in that forum in this post.

Not sure what you mean by “H” mode. There is Smart, Angle, and Home modes. Smart and Home both require a GPS acquired to operate. If you are in Home mode the props will not start.

If you have been in an open field for 15 minutes and still do not get GPS acquired, it is very likely that the GPS module or the FC module were damaged during the repair. Is there evidence of a test flight being performed by United Radio in the FlightLog folder on the ST-16 where they should have performed a post repair test flight?

Have you connected the TH to the GUI to see if it reports any problems?
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
3,456
Reaction score
1,576
Location
The Vehicle City
Thanks for opening my eyes @Phaedrus. This could be a different person than on Yuneec-forum, but the opening description is almost word for word hence my association of the two. The other post was for a TH Pro.

@wllmsnamy, if you do have an H Plus there is no GUI to connect to.

I now know what “H” mode is , Home mode. The motors will not arm in that mode. Refer to page 23 in the attached manual.
 

Attachments

PatR

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 1, 2016
Messages
9,581
Reaction score
5,015
Location
N. California
First thing I would do is review those left column numbers again to determine if every field was reporting. If not I would then check bind status.
 

PatR

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 1, 2016
Messages
9,581
Reaction score
5,015
Location
N. California
Second thing I would do is open up the controller to see if the wires to the arming button got pinched and cut between the front and back halves of the transmitter.
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
3,456
Reaction score
1,576
Location
The Vehicle City
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
49
Not the case at all, sorry was busy with July shutdown projects at work. Engineers only get two times a year to implement new technology and equipment, week of the 4th of July and one week in December over Christmas week. But anyway the Drone was repaired for landing Gear not going back down when requested for landing, after it was sent back I am having nothing but problems with it and can not fly it all now. Was repaired by United Radio in NY and now they inform me that they no longer are a Yuneec Repair facility and asked that I contact
Ken -A- Vision Service:
5615 Raytown Road
Kansas City, MO 64133
816-595-5600
[email protected]
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
3,456
Reaction score
1,576
Location
The Vehicle City
Are you certain that you have the mode switch in the center (Angle mode) position?

Have you tried another location to see if you are able to acquire GPS?

If you are still having trouble acquiring GPS, then they probably messed up the GPS or FC module in the aircraft.

Side note: sounds like changeover at a car plant.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2016
Messages
687
Reaction score
298
Location
France
I had the same case a few months ago, I had just made an update and I had 20 satellites + 12.
I started the beep, but the engines did not start. I had to completely redo the installation and everything worked.
I remember it well, I lost a day of work with a dissatisfied customer.
I sent this picture to Yuneec Europe
17475
 

NorWiscPilot

Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Messages
1,204
Reaction score
608
Location
Northern Wisconsin, USA
What got my curiosity is the green arrow showing up then disappearing. You Plus guys get the H480 green arrow without telling anybody?

Just hoping the wrong firmware didn’t get loaded into the ST16s, or somehow co-mingled.

Jeff
 
Last edited:

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
16,231
Messages
189,796
Members
18,871
Latest member
Ravendt4