Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

H520 Mapping Accuracy

Reaction score
Hello All,
I have an accuracy problem with the mapping output of my H520. The issue has been discussed in older threads, but they were more than a year ago, and I'm not sure if there has been additional information brought forth about it.
This issue is the accuracy I'm getting when the H520 images are processed in Pix4D. I'll layout the exact scenario, and I would be happy to hear any insights or help.
I use the drone for mapping and surveying various sites. I'm a professional land surveyor, and I generally use the drone for mapping a larger area than what I survey. I layout the ground control, a minimum of 4 points, at the outer limits of the site surveyed (ideally).Sites are usually 1-3 acres, sometimes more.
I just used it on a site recently, and I will lay out the parameters I'm using in datapilot. I set up the project to fly 200 feet, with 65% front and 75% side overlap. I hover and stop at each picture, usually flying at 15 mph.
When I bring in the images into Pix4D, I utilize the "Rolling Shutter" option of the camera. When I set up the processing, I check the "All Prior" option in the initial processing, and then generate the ortho image and 1 foot DTM contours.
In the processing report, the GCP's are generally less than 0.2 feet horizontally, but the vertical accuracy is never better than 0.3 feet on the points. The contours are all over the place when I bring them into Civil3D, varying from 0.5 feet to more than 3 feet off the survey points I gathered.
On the same site, I tested it with my Phantom 4 Pro V2. I use the same flight parameters (height and overlap), same control points. I bring it into Pix4D,and the GCP's are spot on, and the contours match everyting very well.