Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Has anyone else seen this review?

Reaction score
Wanted to know if anyone else has seen this video from Drone U?
Seems Rob's comments are solely base on Pix4D's data upload with the 520.
I own 2 H520's yet I'm far from an expert. I have learned more from this site than anywhere else that's why I'm looking for a rebuttal, (if there is one).

Reactions: Koala
After watching the video I feel the need to call BS on their data collection and final results. There’s no way either a Phantom or a 520 can obtain sub centimeter accuracy. Even 2cm is unlikely with the technology in play for the testing. They are both adequate for generalized mapping but not precision instruments, regardless of the data processing methods used.

Is a global shutter better than a rolling shutter? Any rube should be able to figure that out and the addition of a global shutter for the Phantom is a very new thing. The P4 Pro. Then again, anyone serious about photogrammetry and wanting to provide the best product possible to the customer, and receive decent compensation in the process, would not use either platform as neither has the capability of generating ultra accurate results. Megapixel count for either camera is too low for high levels of accuracy. The good stuff starts at 30+ megapixel and uses a global shutter. Both are essentially “training” platforms for gaining experience before moving on to truly professional equipment.

Another troubling item is they viewed both platforms as being the same before going out to shoot comparisons. They didn’t bother to fully research the performance stats before initiating the contest, which leaves all of their end results open to question. You don’t perform comparison testing until after the baseline information is collected and understood.

Last edited: