Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

Intermittent video from the 4K

Discussion in 'Q500+ Discussion' started by Michael1, Dec 22, 2016.

  1. Michael1

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    On playback of the on board video from the micro chip, I get an intermittent picture, rather than a smooth flow.
    Tried a number of settings in the camera, but makes no difference. Could the chip itself be faulty? All help would be appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. Jafo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Southwest United States
    Try a different program for viewing the files.

    Good luck,
    Jafo
     
  3. Michael1

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Jafo. I am using Quicktime Player at the moment on a Mac. Will look around today for alternative program.
     
  4. Chewman

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Is your SD card larger than 32gb?
     
  5. Michael1

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, SD Card is 16gb. I have today tried a different app to play the video, (VLC) but no luck.
    Still the same problem.
    My next trick is to try a new SD card, and that will happen this afternoon. Thanks for your feedback.
     
  6. Jafo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Southwest United States
    That's sometimes a tough one.
    The question is... is the issue with the camera or the viewing program and that's sometimes hard to figure out if you can't tell if the camera/card is getting all that it should.
    A different SD card is a good place to start.
    You could also try reinstalling the camera software if the new card doesn't help.
    Keep us updated.
     
  7. Michael1

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jafo, Chewman,
    Have inserted a new class 10 32gb sd card and just taken typhoon for flight.
    Took two sections of video, one approx 1.88GB and another 398MB.
    Played both back using VLC and Quicktime Player, but no joy, still intermittent video. My next try will be your suggestion of downloading and reinstalling the
    camera software. As I am new to this line of trouble shooting, it may take me a while to figure out how to accomplish this.
    Any input would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks.
     
  8. Wingshooter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Crossville, Tn - East Tennessee
    What Resolution and Frame Rate are you using?
     
  9. Michael1

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Video settings are Resolution 1920x1080 and frame rate 50.
    One of three "Takes" taken today has turned out perfect (Used Quicktime Player on playback) on the above settings, but two of the three are suffering from the intermittent problem as before.
    I am beginning to suspect that a connection is loose or plug not seating properly.
     
  10. Wingshooter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Crossville, Tn - East Tennessee
    That has been known to happen. Might need to check that on the inside of the camera.
     
  11. Michael1

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Before I attempt that (checking the inside of camera for wires loose) I have reset the camera to Factory Default and tried it with three further flights. No luck.
    Then again reset the resolution and frame speed to 120. Still no luck. I cannot explain the one short video I made that came out OK. Am working on downloading software for the camera, but have not had any luck as yet.
    I have noticed that the video transmitted to the controller is smooth and fine, makes me think that there is something amiss with the recording within the camera.
     
  12. Jafo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Southwest United States
    Have a look at the video stored in the box and see if that image is jumpy as well.
     
  13. Michael1

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jafo, you have the best of me. I didn't think that there was the facility to store video in the controller box. ( Or have I misread your note?)
    The video picture transmitted to the controller is smooth and fine,not jumpy at all. If there is a way to copy and store the actual video from the controller, then this would overcome the problem albeit not fixing my original problem.
    I have removed the camera from the drone and visually checked all wires and connectors where possible. Could not see any problems, however did concentrate on connectors when replacing. Will be trying again today sometime.
     
  14. Jafo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Southwest United States
    Assuming your using an ST10 or more....
    Under the battery in the box is a slot for another SD card. An 8g card is all you need in that slot.
    It holds not only a rough video of all images but also telemetry data too.
    You can access the card by hooking your box to your computer with the provided USB cable (given your computer will open it) or you can remove the card.
    See a video on You Tube to learn about installing the card before you do it. I broke the holder before getting good instructions.
     
  15. Michael1

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did not know that. WOW. Will definitely be following your suggestion later today. Thanks
     
  16. CraigCam

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    267
    The st 16 is showing the camera stream independent of the record. It holds the recording for 5 mins in its flash memory and dumps to the sd card. They are only related in "seeing" the same thing. It's a stream subject to its own drop outs with range issues and not a full res video.

    Start with the lowest resolution and record some video. You don't need to fly for any of this. Next try in Hd at at least 30 frames (24 looks jerky on hd monitors as it's a film rate) and see what happens. Record the same thing each time to compare how it looks. Do it in daylight in auto mode as this camera has a lot of features. Keep them short but long enough to compare from previous shot. If it's the camera, it will most likely show issues at any resolution. If it is the card format or speed, it should be fine at 720 resolutions but choke on 1080 and totally crap out and not play at 4K. The card speed matters. Format the card from the camera using camera tools once connected to the St 16 and the wifi to eliminate any format problems before you start. If this still fails and you have a proper Sd card then you need to contact Yuneec and and the camera in. This exercise will also help you if you do create an RMA to provide back up proof of problem.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
     
  17. Jafo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Southwest United States
    Good info from Craig.
    Learn about the "Hidden menu" in the box and how to access it.
    You'll need to tweak a couple of settings to get the box to show on your computer.
    Let us know if you need help with that.