Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Low Battery Warning and Erratic Flight

Reaction score
I'll start by saying I'm a Newbie. I have a 12 successful flights on my Typhoon H Pro and have a LOT to learn.

I'm starting to notice erratic flight behavior when I reach the first low battery warning. Once while landing under low battery the bird would not descend below approximately 30 feet. I should also note that I hadn't yet put the gear down. I raised it up to about 50 feet, dropped the gear and landed safely.

Yesterday while landing in dead calm conditions, under the first low battery warning, the bird was drifting all over the place making it hard to control and difficult to land safely.

I compared these experiences to a recent flight where the wind came up suddenly early in the flight. Not being comfortable with my skills in the wind yet, I headed for home with lots of battery left. The bird was rock solid during decent automatically reacting and pitching into a 15 knot wind gusting to 20 and the landing was a piece of cake.

All that said, does the unit become glitchy during low battery warnings? Or were these experiences just random chance?

Also, I generally get the first low battery warning at 14.3 volts in that helps.

Thanks in advance!

After 8-plus hours on my H (~30 flights) I've never had it get glitchy at the 14.3-volt warning. The only glitchiness I've had to deal with is the over-agressive GPS control at low speeds.
Yes, 14.3 volts is the first low-battery threshold, and in my experience there's still a good deal of juice left after that; you just want to stay close and slow...
The H doesn't know whether the gear is up or down, so there's no issue there.

My first controller had an issue with the flight-mode switch; are you sure it's not slipping in and out of safe mode?

Best not to run into low battery warning at all.