Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Mapping question

Reaction score
I have been asked to quote for a forestry site map (2D) so the customer can roughly calculate an area to be felled, the site is shy of 20h, I have never done this before at such an area, is the H520 capable of this size with decent results or should I use my S900 with X5 and drone deploy?
Any input would be appreciated before I commit to a verbal quote.
Thanks

You can plot it with your H520. 20 Hectares is not that big of a land. It might take you 2 batteries, depending on your points, and since they just want a relative AGL flight, it should be an in/out type a of job. I am not familiar with H520, but I would be curious if the H520 can complete the mission. The s900 can do this mission with ease for sure, you can fly with DD, use their services or use the app to collect your materials and make your map in Recap Pro or Agisoft Pro. I haven't used DD for a while, but I think you can import KML files.... And if so, you can plot your flight in google earth, measure the land, create points, import it to DD (if available) transpose the points to waypoints, modify as need and save as a 3D KML file and check it again in google earth for ground relativity.

While record.play.rewind is right that the S900 can actually fly the mission, I'd caution about using the X5 on this. It apparently has focus issues when mapping. Its a great camera, just not a great option for mapping. If you had access to an X4s camera then perhaps the S900 would be easier to recommend.

I'd say you're best to plan for the H520. You might want to do a trial before hand if thats possible to put your own mind at rest regarding the X5s.

From what I have read, the H520 can provide “decent” results. The size of the area has little to do with the result.