Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

MapView Overlay in the Core App or 3Rd Party app

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to Yuneec Typhoon H. I just purchased the Intel ReaLSense version and should be arriving this week. Very excited to get my hands on it.

This is not my first drone. I've owned the DJI Phantom 3 Advance and currently own a 3DR Solo and the GoPro Karma.

What I'm surprised and disappointed to discover is that the Typhoon does not have a mapview like both the 3DR Solo and GoPro Karma drones. I've been reading a lot of the comments in this forum and I'm very surprised to hear that some people are totally against it. The mapview is such a basic function that I just assumed that the Typhoon had it without giving it a second thought.

Has there been any news from Yuneec to have this functionality in a future build or any 3rd Party Developers to build this simple and yet so important function as a 3rd party app such as Litchi is for DJI products and Solex is for 3DR Solo?

Thanks for listening!

Reactions: SkyDoctor
I think it is safer to have the mapview to determine the heading of the craft and to see exactly where it is if you loose sight of it. I think it is a very useful safety feature to have. I don't look at it as tool to use to fly the craft blindly, but strictly as a safety feature.

I Don't own a dji or solo. But how does the map feature work without cell signal? I know Google maps struggles when cell signal drops off.

Reactions: uidzero
As parr of your preflight planning the apps cache the map of the areas that you're planning to fly and/or create a waypoint mission of when you're connected to a wifi or cellular network.

Have you looked at the UAV toolbox? It has a good mission planner and can display maps of the flight plan.
If you loose track of where the H is located you can simply use the Green Arrow to bring it back into view.

Reactions: SloDrone