Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

New Typhoon H GPS Loss

Joined
Aug 17, 2017
Messages
3
Likes
0
Age
37
#1
Hi Folks, I have flown a Typhoon Quad for almost 2 years and only lost my GPS once for about 2 seconds. I just purchased a brand new Typhoon H. I have not flown it yet as it is dark by the time I get home each night. Two nights ago I did stop in a parking lot on the way home to calibrate the compass and accelerometer. Well after the calibration was complete the GPS signal loss indicator was triggered for about 5 seconds as it sat on the pavement. A minute later it went of again as I was walking with the drone. Should I be concerned?
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Messages
1,396
Likes
923
Location
Central Florida
#2
If this was the first time out, it is probably due to the fact that the GPS registry had not finished loading. Its not in the manual but; if you have a new Typhoon H or have one that hasn't flown in a while, it is a good practice to set it in the open, boot up the ST16 and turn on the aircraft (motors off); and let it sit for about 15 minutes.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2017
Messages
3
Likes
0
Age
37
#3
Hi Ty, thanks for the advice. I stopped on the way home and parked the drone in an empty parking lot well away from my truck, I had a couple of lost gps warnings, Then I brought it home and left it outside my house for a half hour, several times it lost the gps. With the drone on the ground in an idle position almost every time I put the rocker switch to Home the gps warning would go of and then correct itself.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2017
Messages
14
Likes
1
Age
73
#4
Well, that is what should happen, because you haven't launched and you may have been too close to the aircraft with your transmitter. Your switch on the transmitter wants to be in angle mode or smart mode position, not the home position. That is a failsafe programing protocol. Maybe reread the manual and then reread it again to get comfortable. :) we all have to pay that tuition, to protect our fun.

Here's a great clip to review a few times
, take time, go slow and you'll be OK, use angle mode or smart mode to launch. If you cant launch, usually its because the switch is still in home from the previous flight. I've resembled that a few times.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2017
Messages
3
Likes
0
Age
37
#5
Well, that is what should happen, because you haven't launched and you may have been too close to the aircraft with your transmitter. Your switch on the transmitter wants to be in angle mode or smart mode position, not the home position. That is a failsafe programing protocol. Maybe reread the manual and then reread it again to get comfortable. :) we all have to pay that tuition, to protect our fun.

Here's a great clip to review a few times
, take time, go slow and you'll be OK, use angle mode or smart mode to launch. If you cant launch, usually its because the switch is still in home from the previous flight. I've resembled that a few times.
Yes I understand those functions, as mentioned before I have a Q500, my license and have flown for nearly 2 years. I have never had to take flight with an intermittent GPS lock before. With the drone in angle mode standing any distance away from it in a huge open parking lot it will continuesly go from GPS lock to a GPS failure. The return to Home was just me messing around to see if I could cause the loss which it did nearly every time I threw the switch. I let it sit for an hour outside my home and it could not maintain a lock. That is not characteristic of a Yuneec drone, Looks like it is going back today!
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
7
Likes
1
Age
46
#6
You're completely right. Your Q500 GPS was healthy and your H not. It's not true that this is "what should happen" and I don't understand how anyone can say that. No healthy GPS module in the world needs 15 minutes to get a position fix. Normally they use less than a minute from a cold start. The video-link connection f.ex. can take a lot longer than the GPS in good order on the H, especially with EU firmware. Me and many others that knows what they talk about(drone and electronics enthusiasts) has had weird GPS behavior with the Typhoon H, too. It starts with not getting a position fix, even with 20 sats displayed. The absolute strangest things with mine was that if I turned off GPS in the right side menu, all GPS coordinates, speed and altitude showed up in the telemetry boxes left. But when turned on, those disappeared and it refuses to take off showing "GPS lost". It was like the software virtual "switch" was inverted. I had seen this a couple of times during a years time, and it always suddenly went back to normal after a little fumbling and maybe a reset, not returning for a long time. No biggie, I thought, but then last time this happened, it also refused to land or go lower than 3-4 meters - just a little too high to get hold of, and just enough to break a leg when it finally went out of batteries and crashed down. Still haven't heard a satisfying explanation for this behavior, if it is a glitch in the version of the app, fc or GPS module itself(wich I doubt, when it CAN show all GPS telemetry correctly once you turn GPS OFF) Still haven't gotten close enough to a real Yuneec technician to ask about it, it's too hard to get through customer service for me to even try. But I will crack this nut, hope you didn't return your H because it's a fine flying machine.
 
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
5
Likes
0
Age
61
Location
northeast Arkansas
#8
I am having a similar problem with my Typhoon H. I've followed the recalibration procedure several times. The H will turn on but the ST16 keeps reporting 'GPS lost' and 'Needs Calibration'. Even though the blades will start, the ship will not throttle up however. I'm afraid of a fly-off, if I try to launch it. Any suggestions?

The H was working for my first couple of months but I tried connecting a thermal imaging camera CGOET and nothing has worked right again.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Messages
1,396
Likes
923
Location
Central Florida
#9
@Xahama more info is needed. The GPS can not be "calibrated", is it perhaps saying that the "Compass" needs calibration? Where are you trying to take off from? What have you re-calibrated several times exactly?

Okay I just saw the last bit about the new camera. I don't use the thermal camera but hopefully someone who has experience in this area can help.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
7
Likes
1
Age
46
#11
Have you calibrated the compass very precicely as instructions, and to the drones satisfaction ? it means it blinks a certain colour in the end, don't remember exactly, but I think white means do it again.. check the manual. You can calibrate 100 times, it won't help unless you get that right flash after the last move. (white light on the arms means right while you do it - or actually "do this axis" - so it's a little confusing it means wrong in the end, from the main LED) I could be wrong about colours, have to check the book everytime myself..
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
13,190
Messages
149,888
Members
15,832
Latest member
fftty100