Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

PowerDirector 16 and Processing Typ H + 4K Video

Reaction score
Hello. I'm pretty new to this forum.

I studied up and decided to purchase the CyberLink video software PowerDirector 16 (the Ultra version.) I've watched what tutorials I can find and have my preferences in PD set as directed for 4K production. I purposely bought a high-end PC with the necessary "stuff" to process 4K and I have a 4K monitor. That said, the preview editing window is stuttering. Something is amiss and I don't know where. I don't know if the software isn't communicating with my PC, vise versa or what. :( Anyone out there using this software that can help me? Meanwhile I'll keep Googling and searching. Thanks!

So I take it you can view the normal 4K videos on your computer no problem? Typically Power Director works best when you make a proxie for the editing, even if 4K works normally playing on something like a window media player. You say you've got the necessary "Stuff" but are you sure? Doing even slight color correction on a 4K video requires a massive amount of computer speed to view real time in a preview window, can you find the processor type and speed as well as the video card and amount of RAM installed?

In the meantime, to see if using a shadow file will help, Click on the "Edit" tab, scroll down to "Preferences" make sure you're on the "General Tab and see if "Shadow Files" is Checked and if not - check it and set the size to about 720.

Also, Click on the File Tab and set the location for your files to be in the same folder as your project. What this will do is for every 4K video you bring into your gallery, PD will make a low res 720 version that you can do all editing and then when you export it write what ever changes you did to the video to the 4K version. For more info google Proxy or Shadow files.

PDhelp.jpg

Reactions: Rubik