Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Propeller guards

Reaction score
HI Craig from Wasaga Beach Ontario would it be a good idea to install propeller guards on a typhoon H.?

I bought some when I was a noob H pilot. I found them to be a hassle to put on and take off. I decided that for me learning to fly cautiously and improve over time negated the need for the prop guards. YMMV

Reactions: Steve Carr
HI Craig from Wasaga Beach Ontario would it be a good idea to install propeller guards on a typhoon H.?
I have had several crashes. The first was due to being an idiot and trying to impress someone when I first got my H. The second did not damage a blade or motor, neither did a few tips that had happen to me. After the first crash, I bought the guards from Yuneec and that is why I did not have any damage with the crashes that followed. They are especially good if you tip over. A serious crash?.......not much will help that, but it will help to minimize the damage and cost of repair. I now use them because it shows my customers how I look at safety, and for me their perception it very important.

As @rdonson said.....
"I bought some when I was a noob H pilot. I found them to be a hassle to put on and take off. I decided that for me learning to fly cautiously and improve over time negated the need for the prop guards. "

.....and I can understand his point of view. Becoming a better pilot is very important and some do find putting them on is a hassle, but I look at the overall picture of an accident. An accident is something that happens that is out of your control, and I just don't want to risk myself or anyone else getting clipped with the blades as they are extremely dangerous.