Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

RealSense Obstacle Avoidance and Sun Glare

Reaction score
Corvallis, Or, USA & Bonaire, Dutch Caribbean
I realize that a significant portion of the 'regular crew' on the forum have little use for obstacle avoidance so this post is targeted for those that will be utilizing the RealSense obstacle avoidance feature of the H Plus.

This morning was a beautiful day, sunny with no clouds. As I was practicing being a pilot, I was running through some of the features available to me. The H+ was at a reasonable height over an open field (30 - 40 feet), no trees within about a 100 feet of flight direction. I turned on OBS AVOID (RealSense) and continued to putter around. At one point I ended up flying directly towards the morning sun (about 8:40 AM, Oregon). To my surprise, the H+ did its Obstacle Detected Dance, halted forward movement and flashed the 'radar' arc on the ST. The H+ would not go directly forward. A few taps of the rudder to rotate the H+ and off it went again. A few more tests runs seemed to confirm to me that the RS system will be tricked or blinded by reasonably early (and probably evening) sun glare. It appears that the blinding situation exists for a very small flight path heading, maybe 5 degrees or so...

This seems to me to be an extreme corner case for most pilots but thought I would mention it before my aging brain cells eliminate this tidbit of information.

It had clearly been shown in the H version. that either large reflective surfaces or facing directly into the sun will cause erroneous or reduced effectiveness of RS... The H+ is supposed to have a newer enhanced version, but it will be months before enough lab rats (err, us) are able to put up side by side comparisons of both units operating, to tell what those improvements actually do for us.