Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Return to home.

Reaction score
I am waiting for my first drone, Q500 4K to be delivered, so I am a complete newbie. Something I could not seem to find out, will the drone automaticity return to home on low battery power. If not how low should I let it drop before using RTH

It will not return on low battery. The pilot must plan the flights so that the aircraft is close to home when the battery is low. You should be landing when the voltage reaches 10.6 - 10.7 volts. After the motors are shut down the voltage will rebound to around 11.4 volts. That is the perfect storage voltage. Don't recharge them until you plan to fly again.

If you plan to use the Return to Home function you must allow enough battery power so it can fly all the way back. There is no magic number because altitude and wind can make a great deal of difference. You will find the right combination with experience. Be sure to set your return to home altitude.

Also, remember when using the Home function, the Q will fly straight back to the ST10 location and will land about 10-15' from the controller in the line of flight. It does not land where is was launched. The controller is always home. If the Q is North of you, the Q will land 10-15' North of the controller. If the Q is East of you, the Q will land 10-15' East of the controller.

Reactions: Jafo and CrazyKn
We should mention that RTH shouldn't be the primary way you tell your craft to come back to you because there are circumstances where that won't work (GPS loss), which could cause a flyaway if you initiate it when that is the case. Much better to learn to fly ASAP and bring it back under your own control !

Reactions: CrazyKn
How do you set the RTH height? I didnt see this in the GUI.