Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Smart Circle and Orbit Me question

Reaction score
First off, I'm relatively new to the "H". That said, I've been reading the full manual and was wondering if "Smart Circle" and "Orbit Me" are the same thing?
The manual mentions "Smart Circle" on page 8 after "Follow Me" and "Watch Me".
I could not find a button on the ST-16 to enter "Smart Circle" either.
I did find an "Orbit Me" button under the 'Task/Camera" button (also on page 12) and it's directions sound exactly the same as "Smart Circle". Thanks.

Smart circle is the "smart" mode of flying where the right stick basically controls the craft in a circle around you. I say "smart" mode because most everyone recommends against using it compared to angle mode, because angle mode will function exactly the same if and when you lose GPS, where learning to fly in smart mode means the controls change when if/when you lose GPS.

Orbit me is a task that you can run from angle mode. Effectively, yes, they will do the same thing (though in smart mode you'll have to hold the stick sideways to maintain movement, its automated in orbit me). Having the take available is nice because I've got smart mode disabled on my controller, like a few others here.

I'm not a huge fan of either because the yaw can be kinda jumpy (maybe its just my craft) I much prefer flying circles by hand and then editing to the smoothest flying.

First off, I'm relatively new to the "H". That said, I've been reading the full manual and was wondering if "Smart Circle" and "Orbit Me" are the same thing?
The manual mentions "Smart Circle" on page 8 after "Follow Me" and "Watch Me".
I could not find a button on the ST-16 to enter "Smart Circle" either.
I did find an "Orbit Me" button under the 'Task/Camera" button (also on page 12) and it's directions sound exactly the same as "Smart Circle". Thanks.