Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

ST-16 Greeting Edit / Smart Mode Landing Distance

Reaction score
Hi - I'm a newbie to the Typhoon H Pro and haven't even had a chance to fly it yet but I have a couple of Phantoms 3's.

1 - At the top of the controller screen it says, "Welcome, Pilot." Can that be personalized?

2 - If I understand it correctly, if I'm Smart Mode the drone will land a certain distance away from me. I realize I can always use Angle mode but is the Smart Mode distance adjustable?

3 - Is it possible to use the four-point neck harness and the OEM sun shade at the same time? It appears that they use the sale ponting points.

Question 1 - no from what I’ve seen
Question 2 - smart mode will not in theory let the 480 get close to you with in 15’ give or take. It’s not for flying so much but for creating personal geo fence to push or pull drone in follow me mode.
3. The sunshade fits into the holes below the clip points on the st mounts.

Smart mode is the cause of many unexpected crashes and what people call fly always cause they can’t control it and the more they move their position, the worse it gets. I would never land with it on.

Reactions: PDX1953
I think the geo-fence is actually about 26' from the controller. Be sure to download and read the manual. It's in Chinglish but still readable.
When you land just turn the nose of the aircraft away from you so you don't get the orientation confused.
On your first flight, let the H sit with power on but motors off, for 12-1/2 minutes to let the GPS finish updating.
When landing, at about 8" above the ground you can press and hold the red button and the H will land itself and shut down the motors.

Reactions: PDX1953
Thanks for the answers & advice. Having learned how NOT to do things with my first Phantom 3 (which I'm currently rebuilding) I'm sure I'll take a lot more care when I actually get to fly the H.