Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

The Process of editing 4K video

Reaction score
I am not a video expert, nor do I plan to be one. I fly my typhoon H for my own enjoyment.
I have captured some spectacular video and stills with it. But have found the displaying the video on anything other than the ST-16 a pain.

*** PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS THREAD TO DEBATE ONE EDITING PACKAGE OVER ANOTHER ONE***

So I thought I would start some conversation on the process everyone uses to render a 4K video into something that can be shared on YouTube, social media, or just played on your home HDTV.
Not everyone has a high end PC or Laptop, let alone a 4K TV.

First thing I have found you need POWER.
By this I mean a higher end Computer. My old Acer has a AMD C-60 CPU, while it does ok at most task, it wont even attempt to play a raw 4K video. My Newer Dell has a AMD A8-7410 Quad core processor, and while I can play a raw file, it is kinda choppy. I am still playing around with some settings to see if I can improve things.

Second thing I have found is you need to CONVERT the video
As stated above, unless you have dedicated 4K equipment, you are not going to see RAW 4K footage. You will have to convert it to a 256, or a High Definition format. Some video editing software will handle this for you, some will not. There are some pieces of software out there that will only do the conversion, they provide no editing function. Right now I am playing with Filmora, which can handle both.

If you ever want to see the difference, go to a Best Buy or other store and ask them to place a HDTV next to a 4K TV, play the same 4K source on both and you will see a difference. Took some haggling to get the guy to do it.

Third Thing I have found is you need TIME
My old Acer computer would take HOURS to convert 1 five minute 4K video shot with my H to HD format.