Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Typhoon H as a stationary remote controle camera?

Reaction score
Hi, I am thinking of buying a Typhoon H to be used not only as a drone but also as a stationary cam. Can you who own one and are experienced pilots help me out here?
First question is whether it is possible to mount the drone without props hanging in a strap with the landing gear raised and still be able to control pan/tilt/rec etc. using the ST16?

Second question is regarding the video link. I assume it is a digital link, like DJI´s Lightbridge, and if so, what is the expected delay? Any tips and tricks regarding the HDMI out from the ST16?

I apologize if my questions seems somewhat stupid, but consider me a total newbie as far as Yuneec.

Best Regards from a cold and today snowy Sweden!

Hello to Sweden from cold and in some places, snowy Michigan. Most of my family came from Sweden, 3-4 generations ago.

Regarding the first question, I don't see why not. You would need to flip it over to activate the landing gear, then, turn it right side up and suspend it from the strap(s).

Regarding your second question, yes the signal is digital for video but I believe it's proprietary to Yuneec. It's not Lightbridge. The latency isn't that bad, about 0.5 sec in most cases. As far as HDMI, you should be able to just plug it into an external monitor or recorder, however the high resolution video is recorded directly to the SD card in the camera.

Just be aware that while the camera does record audio, the cooling fan noise makes it basically worthless. Since it's mostly on the drone, I don't think much thought was given to high quality sound.

You will want to use an external sound recorder and sync it up in post.

Reactions: Gson
Don't forget it will be 720 output from ST16 using HDMI connected to TV or whatever you use at other end. I'm sure using the right video transfer equipment you could boost up to 1080.