Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Typhoon H camera won’t connect, gimbal works

JamesHHplusMantisQ

No cow bell! MORE COLOUR!!
Joined
Apr 25, 2019
Messages
25
Reaction score
6
Age
46
Location
Vancouver, WA
Hi all ! Yesterday I got my first Typhoon 'H' (not H plus, just H) and it all looks very nice. This morning I checked UAVforecast.com and found it ideal to do a flight test etc. While still inside the house, I did a battery check and found the video would not connect. I removed the camera/gimbal and slid it back on and tried it again. Same thing. Camera movements were great all around, so I knew the camera was getting power. I tried the video button and the snapshot button even though I was not receiving a video screen and it said NO SD CARD INSTALLED. I tried several of my 4K 3U cards Extreme and Extreme plus, not to mention the factory card I found in the camera. I downloaded the card and installed it again, and no change. Then I remembered there was no card in the radio, so for S's and giggles, I installed one in the bottom of the radio( whatever that one is for). No change. Still no SD card detection and no video, but, full camera movements. I went out and flew the drone and tested camera movements anyway without video and it flew great! I did the suggested SETTINGS on the radio and there was the camera listed. I tapped on the camera and then bind, and still no video. I tried everything I can think of. I wonder if the guy I got it from rebooted and clicked something off. I'm at a stand still as for what to do now. Not recognizing ANY SD cards and no video,but full motor function.... hmmmmmm. I just don't know. I'm not afraid to try a REBIND of radio and camera but maybe you might know what the issue is. I am not new to flying and Yuneec is all I fly and I love my Typhoon H as well as my Typhoon Q500 4K's!!! Sorry for the length but I wanted to be as thorough as possible. Thanks everyone!!
I am having the exact same problem. And I have also the infrared hot swap camera and it does the same thing. My H+ is also doing it. I sent my H+ in for repairs and it came back with the camera not working.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TyphoonAddict

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
6,821
Reaction score
3,941
Location
The Villages, FL USA
First thing to tackle is where did you send the H Plus for repair? How long ago and for what reasons? If still within the time frame of warranty on the repair, it is probably best to contact the repair center and arrange a fix.

For the CGO3+ and CGO-ET cameras on the Typhoon H it is really strange that both would exhibit the same behavior if the cameras were the problem.

Do you have a home WiFi that has a 5GHz band with its own SSID? We need to test your ST16 controller’s WiFi card for functionality. Power on the ST16, tap Pad then OK, go to the top right of the screen and pull down then select the WiFi icon. From the menu select your 5GHz WiFi and connect to it. Are you able to connect or not?

For the cameras place them on the aircraft and power on. The LED on the camera should go from white to red to flashing green. When you get to the flashing green the camera will be transmitting its SSID. For the CGO3+ it should be CGO3P_xxxxxx where the C’s are the last 6 digits of the MAC address on the label. See if you can connect to it with your phone or computer that has 5GHz WiFi capability. You can test the CGO-ET in a similar manner.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TyphoonAddict

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
2,994
Reaction score
2,308
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
For the CGO3+ and CGO-ET cameras on the Typhoon H it is really strange that both would exhibit the same behavior if the cameras were the problem.
Yeah, for this part of the problem, the first suspicion would fall to the controller. And there is a fairly easy way to confirm it.
1.) Mount the CG03+ on the Typhoon H Plus drone.
2.) Bind the CGo3+ to the ST16S controller. You will have to go to Pad>Settings>Wifi and bind manually.
3.) See if video will show up. The video will likely have tons of lag and be jerky, but it should show up.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2018
Messages
75
Reaction score
27
Age
59
Location
Sandy Beaches of Florida
Yeah, for this part of the problem, the first suspicion would fall to the controller. And there is a fairly easy way to confirm it.
1.) Mount the CG03+ on the Typhoon H Plus drone.
2.) Bind the CGo3+ to the ST16S controller. You will have to go to Pad>Settings>Wifi and bind manually.
3.) See if video will show up. The video will likely have tons of lag and be jerky, but it should show up.
 

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
2,994
Reaction score
2,308
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
BUT I PREFER THIS VIDEO INSTRUCTION.,.... It's much more thorough. Q500 or 'H', it's all the same.
The video will not actually work for this purpose. For troubleshooting purpose, the intent here is to bind a CGo3+ camera to a Typhoon H Plus ST16S controller, while the CGo3+ camera is mounted on a Typhoon H Plus drone. This is not fully compatible equipment, hence the need to bind the camera WIFI manually using the WIFI section of the settings menu. Pretty good video, though.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2018
Messages
75
Reaction score
27
Age
59
Location
Sandy Beaches of Florida
The video will not actually work for this purpose. For troubleshooting purpose, the intent here is to bind a CGo3+ camera to a Typhoon H Plus ST16S controller, while the CGo3+ camera is mounted on a Typhoon H Plus drone. This is not fully compatible equipment, hence the need to bind the camera WIFI manually using the WIFI section of the settings menu. Pretty good video, though.
Ha. Ya caught it before I deleted it. I realized the process/program was different.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
20,044
Messages
231,775
Members
24,389
Latest member
AmbushBug