Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Which Antenna ??

Reaction score
Going on Jafo's advice (somewhat belatedly) I've ordered most of the pieces to do the range extension mods to my Q500+ antennas. (antennae ??) Pretty straight forward - I got the extensions and the 90s and can fabricate the attachment pieces, but now I run into uncertainty on antennas and the more I read, the more confuzzled I get. I'm new to this stuff and not very good at it.

In the link provided, it calls for a 3 pack of 5.8 antennas, a 3 lobe, 4 lobe and 5 lobe. Why 3 when you can only use one ?? Why spend $30 or $40 when 1 is ~$10 ?? Which is better for our application ?? 3,4 or 5 lobe ??

I see just about nothing on what would be the best 2.4 antenna to mount on the drone and the stock one certainly won't fit on the new connector. (remember, I'm talking about the drone itself, not the controller) There are a multitude of 5.8 antennas out there....why no 2.4s ?? I bought my Q500+ used and it came to me with a flat, directional 2.4 antenna on the controller but I can't use that on the drone.

Big question, too - I have the ST101 antenna from CD mounted on my ST10+ controller and an email to CD received the answer that the ST101 is left polarized. Left ?? Almost everything online is right polarized....and the ST101 is flat. Polarized ?? Migawd, but I'm confused.

Sorry if I seem ignorant - I prefer to say, "poorly educated" in this stuff, but what to do ?? I hope someone can shed some light for me. Thanks

This is all you need if you purchased the parts we talked about before.

NEW 5.8GHz 2.4GHZ circular polarized antenna

Note: these antenni do not have a center pin and are a female connection. Your 90 degree connector should have the pin.